19th Century


Liverpool timeline snippets you just need to know!

The century of change:- as a port Liverpool becomes second only to London

  • 1800 – Population now 78,000. Everton still a village
  • 1800 – Toxteth Park – there were four farms on land leased from Lord Molyneux
  • 1800 – Gun batteries along Mersey because of Naploeonic Wars – including North Battery (site of Collingwood/Stanley Docks)
  • 1800 – Post Office moves to Post Office Place (from Lord St), to Canning Place in 1839 – Customs House
  • 1800 – Bartholomew Bretherton starts running stagecoaches (Angel Inn Dale St/North St John St)
  • 1800 – Union News Rooms – Duke St/Slater St – 1852/60 becomes Liverpool’s first public library also housed Derby Museum
  • 1800 – Heywoods Bank – Brunswick St, house attached in Fenwick St
  • 1800 – School for the Indigent Blind – London Rd                . Moved to Hardman St when Lime St extended – 1849-51, extension 1932 – still there
  • 1800 – Additional canal basin at Old Hall east side for timber trade
  • 1800 – Walton Windmill – ‘Springfield Mill’ -behind current Springfield pub demolished 1920’s/30s
  • 1800 – Great Crosshall St laid out
  • 1801 – Census – 12percent of population living in cellars, 15percent in courts. Pop is 77,653
  • 1801 – William Hutchinson dies and is buried at St Thomas’ – 7th Feb aged 85
  • 1802 – John Foster snr appointed Corporation Surveyor in addition to existing role of Dock Surveyor
  • 1802 – Lyceum in Bold St (newsroom and library) – Thomas Harrison, built on site of a timber yard
  • 1802 – The American Chamber of Commerce in Liverpool is created which, although a separate entity involves many figures from the Liverpool Chamber of Commerce and continues to operate until 1907
  • 1802 – Chisendale Bridge, canal
  • 1802 – Jonas Bold becomes Mayor – a noted slave merchant, sugar trader and banker – owned land since 1786 hence Bold St
  • 1802 – Bethesda Independent Chapel – Duncan St East (Hotham St area)
  • 1803 – Scotland Rd partly widened
  • 1803 – Great Georges Sq laid out and built up by 1836 – was very grand area!! (bottom of Nelson ST)
  • 1803 – St Marks’s Church – Upper Duke St. Demolished 1913
  • 1803 – Botanic Gardens open in Myrtle St/Melville Place (to become site of Myrtle Gardens)
  • c1803 – Sessions House – Chapel St – pulled down 1855 for new Exchange
  • 1803 – Thomas Staniforth dies aged 69 – 15th Dec. Buried at St Thomas’
  • 1803/08 – Exchange Flags behind Town Hall (rebuilt in 1860’s and 1939)
  • 1804 – Limekilns moved from Lime St (Limekiln Lane) to North Shore
  • 1804 – Welsh Charity School built in Russell St
  • c1804 – Area between Clayton Sq and Lime St contains rope-walks
  • 1804 – Bridewell on South Chapel St
  • 1804 – 26th Feb – duel between Mr Sparling (St Domingo) and Mr Grayson (shipbuilder)
  • 1805 – Olympic Circus – Christian St, Everton – 1831 became Queens theatre, 1847 Theatre Royal Adelphi, 1912 Adelphi Cinema – destroyed in Blitz
  • 1805 – Moses Samuel and his mother move to Liverpool
  • 1805 – Liverpools last duel – Colonel John Bolton v Major Brooks – Pembroke Place
  • 1805 – Mayor – Henry Clay
  • 1805 – Henry Duncan born at 106 Seel St – now Blue Angel Club
  • 1805 – Joseph Williamson (Mole of Edge Hill) moves into house on Mason St – façade still standing. The famous tunnels start c1806 and end on his death in 1840.
  • 1805 – Sir J A Picton born 2nd Dec. Died 15th July 1899
  • 1806 – Edward Rushton opend book shop at 44 Paradise St
  • 1806 – Charles Okill appointed to look into Treasurers books (John foster Snr)
  • 1806 – William Roscoe elected MP for Liverpool – quickly left post after talking out against the slave trade
  • 1806 – Marybone Brewery – top of Tithebarn/Vauxhall Rd – now site of student village
  • 1806 – St Marys Chapel and Graveyard – Cambridge St – 20,000 burials by closure in 1849
  • 1807 – Liverpool Cricket Club founded as Mosslake
  • 1807 – Thomas Leyland Bank and warehouses in York St (off Duke St) 10th Jan
  • 1807 – Last slave ship – Kitty Amelia. Capt Hugh Crow
  • 1807 – Synagogue, Seel St/Back Berry St – moves to Princes Rd in 1878 (still there)
  • 1807 – Brunswick Chapel and burial ground, Moss St – closed by 1963 and demolished
  • 1808 – 7th March  – cotton traders move from the top of Castle Street to Exchange Flags
  • 1808 – Corn Exchange – Brunswick/Fenwick St – destroyed in The Blitz and rebuilt 1953-59
  • 1808 – Dale St is widened.
  • 1808 – Dingle estate purchased by Rev John Yates
  • 1809 – In January 1809 the Commercial Room was opened in the New Exchange. This was afterwards renamed the News Room.
  • 1809 – William Gladstone born in Rodney St – became Prime Minister 4 times
  • 1809 – Female Penitentiary – Falkner St – with the aim to rehabilitate prostitutes to “a respectable station in society.”
  • 1809 – Liver Grease, Oil & Chemical Company – trading in Liverpool on 22nd December 1809 as P. Houlgrove & Co. – Turpentine Distillers – still trading at Norfolk St
  • c1809 – John Wright & Co Sugar Refinery – Manesty Lane
  • 1809 – Liverpool Female School of Industry – top of Wood St
  • 1809 – Liverpool Society for Preventing Wanton Cruelty to Brute Animals’  – forerunner of RSPCA
  • 1810 – William Brown (funder of museum) founds merchant bank. In 1825 he Brown is joined by a partner, Joseph Shipley
  • 1810 – Great Homer St laid out by Georgian property developer Joshua Rose
  • 1810 – John Foster Jnr goes to Greece until 1816, exploring architecture etc
  • c1810 – No. 10 Bold St, as house, later shop – TIEDEMANN & BYRNE, (from1870) – watchmakers – frontage late 19thC
  • 1810 – Collape of St Nicholas spire – 24 children killed plus 3 adults
  • 1810 – 4 – 6 Rodney St – Roscoe Court – one time the residence of James Maury, the first United States Consul in Liverpool.
  • 1810 – Goree Warehouses rebuilt after 1802 fire – John Foster Snr supervised
  • 1810 – Mersey Forge – Grafton St, Toxteth. Later became Mersey Steel and Iron Company
  • 1810 – Liverpool Ship Owners Association formed. In 1988 the Association merged with the Liverpool Steam  Ship Owners Association
  • 1810 – Saracens Head Pub – Dale St (on site of Crosse Hall, now site of Municipal Buildings) Demolished in 1853
  • 1811 – St Silas Church, Pembroke Place built – closes 1941
  • 1811 – Front portico added to Town Hall as is
  • 1811 – Day police introduced – seven districts each with 3 constables
  • c1811 – steam power is being used for dock excavation and pumping
  • 1811 – Completion of Great Howard St Gaol – the ‘French Prison’ (for local prisoners)
  • 1811 – St Lukes (bombed out church) started – John Foster Snr & John Foster Jnr – Opened 1831
  • 1811 – ‘The Liverpool Mercury’ first published – lasted til 1904 when merged with Daily Post
  • 1811 – Grain warehouse built at Dukes Dock – survives until 1960’s
  • 1811 – Docks Committee separately incorporated – the finances of the docks were separately administered from those of the corporation. Make-up amended by a further Act of 1825 to include 8 members elected by the docks rate payers
  • 1811 – Renshaw St Chapel – ex Benns Garden, see 1727 above
  • 1812 – Otterspool House built by John Moss is in place – demolished 1931
  • c1812 – Prince Edwin St and Roscommon St laid out as Everton expands
  • c1812 – James Atherton lays out – Northumberland Terr., York Terr., Grecian Terr.
  • 1812/13 – St Mary’s – Irvine St Edge Hill built – still there
  • 1812 – The only assassination of a British Prime Minister. Spencer Percival was shot by bankrupt Liverpool merchant John Bellingham
  • 1812 – Threlfalls Brewery – Crosbie St (off St James St) by John Threfall – moves to Trueman St in 1847
  • 1812 – The Liverpool Literary and Philosophical Society is formed
  • 1812 – George Canning elected MP for Liverpool – holds seat until 1823
  • 1812 – December, Liverpool had become the first and remained the only constituency with a permanent Parliament office in Westminster for the transmission of business between lobbyists, Members and Ministers
  • 1813 – Approximately 10% of Liverpool’s population is now Welsh
  • c1813 – Bronte House – between Walton Lane and Sleepers Hill – for merchant Samuel Woodhouse
  • 1813 – Seaforth Hall – built by Sir John Gladstone MP, father of the future Prime Minister William Ewart Gladstone. Demolished 1881
  • 1812/13 – Horatio Nelson Monument in Exchange Flags – 21st Oct. Designed by Matthew Coates Wyatt (1777-1862) and sculpted by (Sir) Richard Westmacott (1775-1856).
  • 1814 – St Georges Church Everton – first iron church – still there – John Cragg – Thomas Rickman
  • 1814 – St John the Evangelist Church, Fountains Rd
  • 1814 – The Liverpool Royal Institution – 1817 bought Parrs building on Colquitt St – opened on November 25. Moved across road in 1843 for gallery (dissolved 1948)
  • 1814 – Harrington Elementary School – Upper Stanhope St
  • 1814 – Huge Tobacco Warehouse built on west-side of Kings Dock
  • 1814 – Thomas Leyland again elected Mayor
  • 1814 – Edward Rushton dies
  • 1814 – The first Liverpool ships rounded the Cape of Good Hope, within a few years India had become one of the principal markets for the goods exported from Liverpool
  • 1815 – by now Liverpool is major port for import of West African Palm Oil
  • 1815 – Liverpool Savings Bank Founded,                 originally Ranelagh St, moved to Freemasons Hall in Bold St, in 1819. Extended in 1829.  By the 1850s, Liverpool Savings Bank had become the fifth largest in the UK
  • 1815 – Tower of St Nicks replaced to a design of Thomas Harrison The new tower was built on a slightly different site and in the rebuilding the remains of the old chapel of St Mary del Key, which had served as a school, a boat house and a tavern, were demolished.
  • 1815 – First steam ship on Mersey from the Clyde – the Elizabeth
  • 1815 – St Michael-in-the-Hamlet – plus 5 villas, more added in 1840’s, and a terrace in 1880’s John Cragg – Thomas Rickman
  • 1815 – St Andrew’s Renshaw St/Heathfield St built – later demolished for Central Station
  • 1816 – First street gas lamps – outside Town Hall
  • 1816 – St Philip Church – Hardman St – John Cragg – Thomas Rickman
  • 1816 – Steam ships start being built on Mersey at Runcorn
  • 1816 – Roscoe’s Art Collection is bought by Liverpool Royal Institution on his bankruptcy – finally to Walker Art Gallery in 1948
  • 1816 – Abercromby Sq starts to be laid out – was Moss Lake Fields (drained early this century – 1816). The west terrace is added by John Foster snr 1819. Central rotunda 1822
  • 1816 – Floating Baths launched
  • 1816 – Liverpool Gas Light Co formed – Wykes Court and Hatton Garden
  • 1816 – Liverpool Leeds Canal now open throughout
  • 1816 – Leyland and Bullins Bank open branch in King St
  • 1814-16 – Wellington Reading Rooms Mount Pleasant
  • 1817 – St Peters RC School – Seel St next to church (Alma de Cuba now) still there
  • 1817 – Steam ferries between Pier head and Birkenhead
  • 1817 – The seawater baths were demolished, in order to make way for the Prince’s Dock
  • 1817 – Johnson (the Cleaners) Brothers started in business as silk dyers
  • 1818 – Pleasant St Board/Primary School – still there
  • 1818 – St Andrews School – Fleet St junction with Slater St – paid for by John Gladstone – still there
  • c1818 – Great Crosshall St Welsh Independent Chapel – site of Marybone Student Halls now
  • c1818 – Cheapside widened – current terrace of shops on left-hand side built
  • 1818 – First iron shed for docks – east of Queens Dock
  • 1818 – Waterloo Hotel opens Ranelagh St – Mr Lynn
  • 1818 – Islington Market – Shaws Brow – demolished 1856
  • 1818 – Kirkdale Gaol – enlarged 1864-65, closed 1892. Now the site of Kirkdale Recreation Ground
  • 1818 – Church St first Liverpool street to be macadamised
  • 1819 – Tower Buildings pulled down, replaced by warehouses, rebuilt 1856
  • 1819-20 – Jonathon Blundell Hollinshead – Mayor
  • 1819 – Glass Manufactory, Vauxhall Rd – Orford & Foster
  • 1819 – Steam packet to Belfast starts – ‘The Waterloo’
  • 1819 – On the 20th June, paddle steamer Savannah, Georgia sails into Liverpool first steam assisted vessel to cross Atlantic
  • 1819 – St Mary’s, the Chapel of the School for the Indigent Blind, Duncan Street (later Hotham Street) opened by Bishop of Chester 6th Oct
  • 1819 – Castle St gas lit
  • 1819 – Orange Lodge formed in Liverpool
  • 1820-30 – Canning St laid out – one of longest and best preserved
  • c1820 – Manchester St laid out
  • 1820 – Anne Jemima Clough was born. She pioneered the University extension movement (which provided lectures for women who were denied access to universities because of their sex)
  • c1820 – Many streets widened – Dale St (north side taken down and set back) ; Lord St; North and South John St; James St; Old hall St; Tithebarn St
  • 1820 – Liverpool Opthalmic Infirmary – Wood St
  • 1820 – Liverpool Seamans Friend Society founded
  • 1820/21 – The Birkenhead Ferry, as we know it today was inaugurated in 1820 at Woodside. A George la French obtained the consent
  • 1820 – Great Homer St widened and built upon
  • 1820 – Dome added to Town Hall
  • 1820’s – 72 – 74 Upper Parliament St – still there
  • c1820 – A house called Holly Lodge built by Quaker Issac Cooke – became school in 1922
  • 1820 – Mechanics and Apprentices Library on School Lane
  • 1820 – John Foster jnr is first President of the revived Liverpool Academy of Arts
  • 1820 – Everton Cross disappears
  • 1820 – Old Hall St widened, slums/courts demolished, and the hall finally demolished
  • 1820s – North and South John Streets widened
  • c1821 – Water St widened
  • 1821 – Select Vestry by election to overcome previous mal-administration of Poor Relief and workhouses
  • 1821 – Windmill at St James Mount demolished after storm
  • 1821 – Bent’s Brewery – Johnson St – Richard and John Bent.
  • 1810/21 – Princes Dock – 19th July – George IV’s coronation Half-tide dock added 1868. Entrance sealed 1949
  • 1821 – James Cropper creates Dingle Bank – 1823 three large houses and Dingle Cottages
  • 1821/48 – Dock wall constructed
  • 1821 – Red Star Line established – increased traffic to America (Liverpool-New York)
  • 1821/27 – St Patricks RC Church – Park Place/Park Road
  • 1822 – James Muspratt opens an alkali works in Vauxhall – the origins of ICI
  • 1822 – St John’s Market opened in Great Charlotte St (demolished 1964)               – Opened 7th March
  • 1822 – Father James Nugent born in Hunter St – memorial in St John’s Gardens –
  • 1822 – George III monument – London Road. Originally intended for Great George Square – Sir Richard Wesmacott
  • 1822 – Brocklebanks opened an office in Rumford Street
  • 1822 – 5th Dec – violent storm causes deaths and damage
  • 1822 – St Matthews Daily & Sunday Schools – Hackins Hey
  • c1822 – ‘The Lancashire County Refuge for the Destitute’ was Roscoe St now Edge Lane – Adelaide House
  • c1823 – Sudley House
  • c1823 – Windsor St laid out
  • c1823 – Borean Universalists Chapel in Bold Street
  • 1823 – Egyptian long staple cotton is imported into Liverpool for the first time
  • 1823 – Miss Anne Sharp – best friend of Jane Austin – is running a boarding school at 14-15 Everton Terrace. Buried at St Georges church
  • 1823 – Union Half-tide Dock built – merged with Coburg Dock in 1858
  • 1823 – 30th Sept – Mr Sadler – as part of triennial music festival makes a false landing in is hot-air balloon
  • 1823 – Liverpool Oil Gas Company (became New Gas and Coke Company)
  • 1823/4 – St Andrews Church – Rodney St – still there but burnt out in 1983 – 2013 – being converted to student accommodation
  • 1824 – Under Chairmanship of John Moss the Liverpool and Manchester Railway Joint-Committee is established to press for railway
  • 1824 – Park Hill Rd laid out, South Hill Rd soon after
  • 1824 – Camell Laird – Birkenhead – William Laird
  • 1824 – Bartholomew Bretherton – stagecoach coach proprietor – builds Rainhill House/Hall opposite his stables
  • 1824 – John Foster Snr resigns as Corporation Surveyor and Dock Engineer. 18th February – John Foster Jnr appointed as Surveyor and Architect to the Corporation
  • 1824 – Jesse Hartley is appointed dock surveyor (chief engineer) of the Port of Liverpool, at the age of 44. It was a post he would hold for nearly forty years until he died, still in post, aged 80.
  • 1824 – Liverpool Infirmary moves to Brownlow St – 230 beds cost £25,000
  • 1824 – Gaetano Donizetti’s writes ‘Emilia di Liverpool (Emily of Liverpool) Opera’
  • 1824 – Many more schools by now – 12 Anglican; 7 Methodist; 15 Sunday School Union etc
  • 1825 – Anti-emigration laws relaxed, many now leaving for new World via Liverpool
  • 1825 – Necropolis or Low Hill Cemetry Everton (now Grant Gardens). John Foster Jnr – 5-acre site surrounded by an arcade. Grand entrance with Oratory
  • 1825 – Liverpool Mechanics School of Arts, (moves to be the Mechanics Institution Mount St in 1835)
  • 1825 – Number 100 Bold Street was built to house Louis Daguerre’s Diorama
  • c1825 – Charitable Institutions House – Slater St – paid for by John Gladstone
  • 1825 – Institution for the Instruction of the Deaf and Dumb – Wood st
  • 1825 – Improvement Act – Castle Ditch houses demolished (for St Georges Crescent 1827). Also plans for James St, Hanover St, Great Howard St, Leece St, Shaws Brow, London Rd
  • 1825/35 – Ropeworks off Lodge Lane
  • 1827/32 – Brunswick dock  built for timber trade                – Jesse Hartley
  • 1826 – Cookes Circus. In 1830 remodelled as ‘Cooke’s Royal Amphitheatre of Arts’ (Great Charlotte St/Roe St) – 1881 Royal Court Theatre’ – rebuilt after fire in 1933/38
  • 1826 – Bank of England opens in former private house in Hanover St – move to Castle St in 1844/45
  • 1826 – The poem Casabianca ( known as The Boy stood on the Burning Deck) was written by Liverpool born Felicia Hemans
  • 1826 – Upper Stanhope Street, Upper Hill Street, Chester Street and Windsor Street were purchased from Lord Sefton by the Wesleyans
  • 1826 – Houses built on Park Street
  • 1826 – Group of 6 houses – Blackburne Terrace – set back with carriage drive
  • 1826 – Bevington Bush School – North Corporation Primary School – Blackstock St
  • 1826 – St Michaels Church – Cornwallis/Kent St
  • 1826/27 – Lord St widened four fold and the crescent (St Georges Crescent) introduced. Pool Lane improved and called South Castle St
  • 1826 – The second Bill for Liverpool Manchester Railway was introduced in February 1826, approved by Parliament and given royal assent in May
  • 1826 – First Adelphi built on site of Ranelagh Tea Rooms
  • 1826 – Gardeners lodge built at St James Mount/cemetery – still there
  • 1827 – Old Dock filled in ready for Customs House
  • 1827 – Floating Mariners Church in Kings dock – sank in 7th June 1872
  • 1827 – St David’s Welsh Church Brownlow Hill – demolished 1910 for extension to Adelphi Hotel
  • 1827 – Oratory opened at public cemetery – St James Mount, for funeral services. On site of ancient windmill
  • c1827 – George Forrester and Company of Vauxhall Foundry founded. Started building locomotives in 1834-to-1847
  • 1827 – St Mary’s Church Bootle built – hit in Blitz and demolished later, now ‘Church Gardens’
  • 1827 – Wesleyan Methodist Chapel – Stanhope St
  • 1827/28 – Queens Hall, 65-67 Bold St – was a Chapel, then entertainment hall, then café…
  • 1827 – Liverpool – Holyhead Semaphore Telegraph
  • 1827 – Liverpool Law Society founded
  • 1827 – 12th April – George Canning MP becomes PM for a short time
  • 1827 – Thomas Leyland Leyland died on 29th May, aged 75
  • 1827 – Upper Parliament St laid out
  • c1828 – Mathesons Brewery – Bond St off Vauxhall – merges with Threfall’s in 1888
  • 1828 – Dale St widened
  • 1828 – Foundation stone for 5th Customs House laid 12th Aug (finished 1838)
  • 1828 – Rushworths (organs) founded in Yorkshire, move to Liverpool late 1800’s. Had shops in Islington and Whitechapel, plus organ works in Great George St and St Anne St
  • 1828/1902 – W.H & G.H Dreaper were piano makers at 96 Bold Street – supplied the Beatles
  • 1828 – Hendersons Dept Store opened in Church St – 1949 purchased by Harrods
  • 1828 – Widening of St Johns Lane – burials exhumed
  • 1828 – Calderstones Mansion House
  • 1828 – St Martin-in-the-Field – Silvester St off Vauxhall Rd – ‘The Black Church’
  • 1829 – UKs first publicly funded baths at St Georges Dock
  • c1829 – Shaw St, Everton laid out – first house built on Shaw St – eventually grand Georgian houses built on west side
  • 1829 – St James Cemetery – over 100 rock-hewn catacombs, 57,774 burials. Finally closed 1936. Restored 2001
  • 1829 – St Brides – Percy St
  • 1829 – Horse racing starts at Aintree – William Lynn of Waterloo Hotel Ranelagh St
  • 1829 – Claremont Grove (Fountains Rd) Independent Chapel Kirkdale – became RC John the Evangelist in 1870
  • 1829 – Liverpools first joint stock bank – Manchester & Liverpool District Bank – 45 Pool Lane
  • 1829 – Liver Theatre – 46 Church St – (converted to shops 1850s, may now be Dorothy Perkins)
  • 1829 – John James Audubon arrived in Liverpool on 21st July, stays with Rathbones at Greenbank
  • c1829 – Liverpool North Dispensary – 56 Vauxhall Rd/Freemasons Row
  • 1829 – North and South Bootle Landmarks – they stood on what is now the site of the Alexandra Dock, Branches Nos. 1 and 2
  • 1829 – Park Road Welsh Congregational Church built – Demolished c 1986
  • 1829 – Rainhill Trials – won by the Stephensons ‘Rocket’. George Stephenson lived for a time at 34 Upper Parliament St
  • 1829 – Vauxhall Gas Works – Liverpool Gas Light Co (1815) – off Lower Burlington St/Eccles St
  • 1829 – First Liverpool Cooperative Society formed by John Finch
  • c1829 – Grecian Hotel – Dale St – façade still in place (opposite Stanley St)
  • 1829/30 – Wapping Goods and Crown St Passenger/Edge Hill Tunnels – first in the world under a metropolis.
  • 1830 – Edge Hill and Crown St Stations – passenger terminus for Liverpool-Manchester Railway
  • 1830 – Liverpool – Manchester Railway opened: world’s first true passenger – line 15th Sept. Edge Hill – Wapping Tunnel with Moorish arch by John Foster Jnr – demolished 1860
  • 1830 – Seven private banks now exist in Liverpool – normally larger merchants
  • c1830 – Boundary St laid out – division between Liverpool/Kirkdale
  • 1830 – Wavertree Botanic Gardens – Edge Lane (relocated from Mount Pleasant)
  • c1830 – 18-19 Abercromby Square built for CK Prioleau, a South Carolina businessman whose firm supported the Confederate cause in the American Civil War. Bishop Chavasse also lived here and Noel Chavasse VC winner
  • 1830 – The Grange – farmhouse – Edge Lane/Botanic Rd
  • c1830 – Harrington Chambers – North John St – as shops and offices
  • 1830 – St Augustines – Shaw St Everton built. Destroyed in The Blitz
  • 1830 – Brougham Terrace built – (1889 no. 8 becomes Britain’s first mosque) – later became Register Office til 2000
  • 1830 – St Annes’s Stanley – Tuebrook – Prescot Rd – rebuilt 1890
  • 1830 – Stanley Meat Market – abattoir (1931)
  • 1830 – Horse-drawn buses introduced
  • 1830 – The American Bar – now Irish American – Lime St
  • c1830 – Clare Terrace, Marmaduke St
  • 1830 – Falkner Square completed – became public garden in 1835 – built by Edward Falkner. Falkner Terrace, Upper Parliament St completed by 1831, restored 1986
  • 1830 – Liverpool Branch of Temperance Movement founded
  • C1830/33 – 75 -79 Bold St
  • 1830 – Clarence Dock opened for new steamers – first to include continuous covered sheds – filled in in 1929 for power station site. 1.3m Irish immigrants passed through Clarence Dock 1845-52
  • 1830 – Arthur Leyand builds New Hall – Norris Green – ‘New Hall Lane’ (Townsend Ave/Broadway) demolished 1931 for new estate housing
  • 1830s – Percy St
  • 1831 – Population of Everton 40,000, total population 205,000
  • 1831 – Dublin St and Saltney St laid out off Great Howard St – most northerly at this time
  • 1831 – St Judes Church, Hardwick St – site of The Royal now
  • 1831 – St Catherine’s church Abercromby Sq.
  • 1831 – Bank of Liverpool founded (merges with Martins 1918, renamed Martins Bank in 1928) site of Golden Talbot Inn 34 Brunswick St
  • 1831 – Worlds first steam powered fire engine purchased by Liverpool Docks Committee
  • 1831 – St Martins Market – Bevington Hill – presents one front to Scotland-road, and another to Bevington Bush. Later becomes known as Paddy’s Market when 34 Banastre St market moves in – Paddy’s was a general market – clothes and ‘rags’. Moves to Great Homer St after 2nd World War
  • 1831 – Second Lunatic Asylum – Ashton St/Brownlow St –
  • 1831 – 30th June William Roscoe dies
  • 1832 – First recorded evidence of ‘The Parks Police’
  • c1832 – John Mayor Threlfall starts brewing business in Crosbie St – then Trueman St 1847
  • 1832 – Cholera outbreak kills 1532 people. Kitty Wilkinson allows house to be used as wash house
  • 1832 – Christ Church School – Christian St. Demolished in 1939
  • 1832 – Israel Barned and Co. of Liverpool began business – bank
  • 1832/36 – Edward Lear employed by Earl of Derby at Knowsley
  • 1833 – Great fire in Lancelots Hey (off Chapel St) – New Quay
  • 1833 – Liverpool Zoological Gardens – Mr Atkins – Boaler Rd/Sheil Rd as is – was Plumpton Hollow
  • 1833 – St Anthony’s Church – Scotland Rd. In 1847 2,303 men, women and children were buried at St Anthony’s – Irish famine. The crypt contains 660 individual burial vaults
  • 1833 – Merchants Coffee House, Chapel St/south west of church yard was demolished
  • 1833 – Two small chapels were built between St Patrick’s and Warwick St. Park Place Chapel was built on Park Road
  • 1833 – Michael James Whitty took up his appointment as Superintendent of the Liverpool Town Police Night Watch.
  • 1833 – 10th Jan – Liverpool Medical Society founded
  • c1833 – St James Market – end of Great George St opens. Demolished in 1899
  • 1833/34 – First India Buildings for George Holt – Water St
  • 1833/34 – St Matthias Church built in Love Lane. Was acquired by the railway and moved to Great Howard St/Vulcan St 1848/49 and closed 1949
  • 1834 – City Fire Brigade formed – became part of city police force in 1836 – ‘fire bobby’s
  • 1834 – Barker & Dobson start trading in Paradise St
  • 1834 – Liverpool New Gas & Coke Company Works – Athol St
  • 1834 – Royal Northern Hospital (later David Lewis Hosp) – No. 1 Leeds St, expanded to Gt Howard St in 1844
  • 1834 – Hallsal Seager and Co Brewery added to The Bush in Bevington Bush
  • 1835 – Deane Rd Jewish Cemetery. Many prestigious Liverpool people are buried at the cemetery such as David Lewis (founder of Lewis’s store) and the founder of H.Samuel jewellers as well as Charles Mozely, the first Jewish Lord Mayor of Liverpool
  • 1834 – Waterloo Dock opens – altered in 1868 by GF Lyster. Originally had three blocks of warehouses – north demolished after war damage, west stack demolished 1969
  • 1835 – City boundaries extended to include: Kirkdale, Everton, Toxteth, West Derby – more taxes now raised
  • 1835 – Whigs oust the Tories after more than 50 years control of Liverpool
  • 1835 – Liverpool Town Borough Police formed
  • 1835 – Liverpool Mechanics School of Arts – Mount St, then Mechanics Institution then Liverpool Institute High School for Boys (closes 1985)
  • 1835 – Liverpool Salvage Corp formed
  • 1835/37 – Liverpool Medical Institute – corner Hope St/Mount Pleasant
  • 1835 – Liverpool becomes an Assize town
  • 1835 – Judges lodgings in St Anne St, corner of Mansfield St,  (they move to Newsham House in 1868)
  • 1835 – Worlds first passenger railway timetable
  • 1830s – Northend and Southend Abbatoirs – Trowbridge St
  • 1836 – Lime St Station opened by J.Foster jnr. Rebuilt 1849, 1867, 1874 south vault added – streets disappear: Gloucester St, Hanley St, Disley St, Poyton St, Norbury St. Skelhorne St re-routed as is. Screen wall by John Foster Jnr (demolished 1868 when the hotel was built)
  • 1836 – St James-the-less Primary School – Athol St
  • 1836 – New grandstand at Aintree r’course – Captain Becher rides ‘The Duke’. 1839 first ‘national’ (official name in 1847)
  • 1836 – Trafalgar dock opened – part filled in early 1990’s
  • 1836 – Botanic Gardens move to  Edge Lane – surrounding public park opens in 1856
  • 1836 – North and South Wales Bank founded – Welsh builders – Cook St
  • 1836 – Gambier Terrace built – John Lennon and Stuart Sutcliffe share a flat here in 1960 – No. 3
  • 1826 – Liverpool Domestic Mission Society founded
  • 836 – Liverpool Stock Exchange – Sweeting St. Moved to Exchange St East in 1879
  • 1836 – The artist and theosophist Isabelle de Steiger (née Lace) was born at 2 Canning Street
  • 1836 – The Liverpool City Police replaced the Night Watch and the Corporation Constabulary. On the 9th February Michael James Whitty was appointed Liverpool’s First Head Constable
  • 1836 – Waterloo Cup – hare coursing starts (Altcar) – conceived in Waterloo Hotel Liverpool, Earl of Sefton/William Lyn
  • 1836/37 – Peter Walker Snr moves to Liverpool, and starts brewery at 43 Prince Edwin St in 1845
  • 1836/37 – St Annes Church Aigburth
  • 1837 – Crescent Congregational Chapel – Everton Brow/Crescent
  • 1837 – Grand National  – Earl of Sefton/William Lynn
  • 1837 – St Mary’s Cemetery. Became Lester Gardens off Walton Rd in 1898
  • 1837 – West Derby Union formed
  • 1837 – Liverpool Chess Club formed at the Lyceum
  • 1837/38 – Grand Junction Railway opened – linked Liverpool to Birmingham via Newton Junction
  • 1837 – Fish Market – Rose Street/Gt Charlotte St next to Royal Amphitheatre.
  • 1837 – Liverpool now linked to Birmingham and London via train
  • 1837 – In the late 18th and early 19th Century a Triennial Music Festival had been held in Liverpool, discussion’s start on providing a big enough venue eventually leads to building of St Georges Hall
  • 1837 – Hope Hall – later Church of St John – then concert hall – Hope Hall Cinema 1912/63 – Everyman Theatre 1964 – rebuilt 1975/77
  • 1837/45 – West Derby Union Workhouse – becomes Mill Rd Maternity Hospital 1871 – closes 1993
  • 1837/39 – Queens Building and Avenue – off Dale St/Castle St – built for The Royal Bank.Dale St was widened.
  • 1838 – Liverpools first steamer to cross Atlantic direct – Royal William – took 19 days
  • 1838 – The Liverpool Polytechnic Society was established on 23rd October 1838
  • 1838 – Last of merchants, Thomas Tobin, moves out of Bold St as it becomes all shops
  • 1838 – Schweppes open a factory at 148 London Rd
  • 1838 – 19th Oct – first iron built sailing-ship in Liverpool by Messrs Jackson, Gordon &Co launched – The Ironsides
  • 1838/40 – Castle Moat House – built for North and South Wales Bank
  • 1839 – 5th Customs House & Revenue Building opened. Demolished after being damaged in The Blitz
  • 1839 – Additional canal arm towards Vauxhall Rd parallel to Charters St
  • 1839 – Gas Pumping Station – Rose Hill – becomes Bridewell in 1849 see below
  • 1839 – Pembroke Chapel –  Pembroke Place/Crown St
  • 1839 – St Saviour’s – Falkner Sq
  • 1839 – Fish Market in James St taken down
  • 1839 – The Liverpool Shipwreck and Humane Society set up to help victims of the great hurricane which hit the Irish Channel and Liverpool on 7th/8th January
  • 1839 – Mornington Terrace – Upper Duke St – row of 5 houses
  • 1840/41 – Great George St Church – now ‘The Blackie’
  • 1840 – Mrs. James Aikin forms first female orphangage in Stanhop St – moves to Edge Lane in 1843
  • c1840 – Albert Pub – Lark Lane
  • 1840 – The Mersey is charted by Capt Henry Mangles Dengham, Resident Marine Surveyor of the Port of Liverpool
  • 1840 – First performance by Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 1840 – Barned’s Building – Sweeting St (originally Elbow’s Lane) -headquarters of Barned’s Bank
  • 1840s – North Shore cotton mills develop around canal (north of Boundary St) , but a short lived industry in Liverpool – changed to flour & rice mills
  • 1840 – Coburg Dock opened, enlarged 1858
  • c1840 – Marldon Chambers – Clarence Building, North John St
  • c1840 – Teutonic Hall (St James Hall)- Lime St – became Palais De Lux Cinema. Downstairs housed Allsops Royal Waxworks or Crystal Palace Waxworks
  • c1840 – Woodlands on Anfield Rd – oldest surviving of the villas – once home of Henry Tate – extended in 1910 as Queen Mary High School for Girls. Now Abbey Lawns Nursing Home
  • 1840’s – St Domingo Grove and Vale laid out – villa developments
  • 1840 – Franz Liszt composer and virtuoso pianist; performed at the Theatre Royal, 1 Dec
  • c1840 – Many industrial works in Vauxhall
  • 1840 – Girls Orphanage – 97 Upper Stanhope St
  • 1840 – Cunard awarded transatlantic mail
  • 1840’s – Fulwood Park, Cressington Park, Grassendale Park laid out – posh!!!
  • 1840 – The Hall of Science’ -Nelson St – a spacious building with a gallery on three sides, and had a seating capacity of 2,700 persons. Became Nelson Assembly Rooms by 1843, then commercial premises
  • 1840 – Joseph Williamson dies on 1st of May 1840 aged 71 years and was buried with his wife and her family in the Tate family vault located within the graveyard of St Thomas’ Church
  • 1841 – Work starts on St Georges Hall
  • 1841 – Liverpool Poor Law Parish comes into being under 25 member Board of Guardians
  • 1841 – Church of St Clements – Beaumont St – still there
  • 1841 – Church of the Holy Apostles, Canning Street
  • 1841 – Toxteth Dock
  • 1841/45 – Dukes Dock extended with a half-tide dock
  • 1841/42 – Salthouse Dock remodelled & enlarged
  • 1841 – The population of Everton was 9,221. By 1901 it had risen to 121,469. The merchants had moved further out of Liverpool and rows and rows of terrace housing had been built
  • 1841 – Docks Watch/Police merge with City Police
  • 1841 – The South End Homeopathic Dispensary was established at 41 Frederick Street by John James Drysdale,
  • 1841 – The Liverpool Cotton Brokers’ Association formed
  • 1841 – Lying-in Hospital and Dispensary for the Diseases of Women and Children – Horatio Street, Scotland Road. Then in October 1845 it transferred to Pembroke Place. In 1862 a new hospital was built in Myrtle Street.
  • 1841 – St Bartholomews – Naylor St, Vauxhall
  • 1841 – St. Anne’s Church, Overbury Street – presbytery 1841, church opened 1846 – still there
  • 1842 – The Mersey Conservancy Act of 1842 established the Mersey Conservancy Commission whose officers acted on behalf of the Monarch, who was the ‘conservator of all navigable rivers’. Since 1858 the navigation authority for the Estuary has been the Mersey Docks and Harbour Board
  • 1842/44 – Canning half-dock
  • 1841/51 – Population jumps from 223,000 in 1841 to 376,000 in 1851 – many Irish
  • c1842 – Bonded Tea House – 177 Gt Howard St. Originally Clarence’s Warehouse – Liverpool’s largest when built.
  • 1842 – Kitty Wilkinson brought about the opening of Britain’s first combined public baths and wash house at Upper Frederick Street
  • 1842 – Southern and Toxteth Hosp first opened in Greenland St, Toxteth. Later Caryl St (1872)
  • c1842 – 8/ 10 Benson St – offices of Samuel & James Holme (building contractors) – still there
  • 1842 – There are over 140 warehouse fires – one in Formby St resulted in £500,000 loss destroying nine warehouses
  • 1842 – St Georges Skin Hospital, Grenville St South
  • 1842 – Vauxhall Rd Chimney stack – alkali works – 250ft high! – demolished 1921
  • 1842 – Liverpool Building Act – led to start of housing improvements and planning laws for courts
  • 1842/43 – The Brownlow Hill Workhouse was enlarged with Henry F Lockwood and Thomas Allom as architects
  • 1843 – Act of Parliament allows use of water from the Mersey to be used for street cleaning, sewer flushing and fire fighting
  • 1843 – Building Act covering fire regs for warehouses
  • 1843 – Dr Duncan issues pamphlet highlighting the plight of those living in courts and slums, and cellar dwellings
  • 1843 – Liverpool Victoria Friendly Society founded as burial club
  • 1843 – Corporation buys site of Wavertree Hall (Plumbes Hall) as intended site for a gaol. Walled Garden laid out in 1856
  • 1843 – Scotland Road United Methodist (Wesleyan Methodist Association until 1857, United Methodist Free Church until 1907). Later became Derby Cinema
  • 1843 – Liverpool College – Shaw St, Everton – Harvey Lonsdale Elmes. From 1863 Upper school called Liverpool Collegiate – moves to Lodge Lane in 1884-87.
  • 1843 – Select Vestry erected Kirkdale Industrial School for the care and training of pauper children on what is now Westminster Road at Kirkdale. Became Kirkdale Homes for elderly in 1904, renamed Westminster House in 1950s.
  • 1843 – Myrtle St Orphan Asylum for Girls – 1854 saw the building of the Boy’s orphan asylum and at the same time the Church of the Holy Innocents
  • 1843 – Princes Park laid out – private – Dickinson’s Dingle damned to form lake
  • 1843/45 – Hartley adds half-tide dock to Dukes Dock.
  • 1844 – Mersey Yacht Club founded
  • 1844 – Girls School established in Blackburne House – Mrs Frances Elizabeth Davies was the school’s first Matron and Head Governess
  • 1844 – Construction starts on Birkenhead Docks
  • 1844 – St Anthony’s School – Newsham St (next to church) Scottie Rd
  • 1844 – Myrtle St Baptist Church
  • 1844 – Charles Dickens gives speech at Mechanics Institute – Mount St – 26th Feb
  • 1844 – Liverpool’s first gymnasium – Cook St – Lewis Huguenin
  • 1844 – Thomas Sands,  Mayor of Liverpool, called a public meeting on 18 October to make arrangements for the establishment of a ‘Sailors’ Home, Registry and Savings Bank for Seamen’
  • 1844 – Liverpool Warehouse Act – because of fires, stopped timber built warehouses
  • 1844 – Thomas Fresh appointed as Inspector of Nuisances on 4th Sept
  • 1844/45 – Kardomah Coffee Company founded in Pudsey St. Cafes in Bold St, Church St (now Goldsmiths)
  • 1845 – Brownlow Hill workhouse rebuilt – held several thousand people
  • 1845 – Royal Insurance founded – became Royal & Sun aAlliance
  • 1845 – Disaster at Sussex St Toxteth – 6 killed  when a huge iron tank that was being erected by the Liverpool and Harrington Water Works Company burst – Acorn Court as is Toxteth
  • 1845 – High Park St Reservoir – Toxteth – still there.
  • 1845 – Ruperts Cottage demolished?
  • 1845 – In February rooms were taken in Stanley Buildings, Bath Street and opened as a Seamen’s Savings bank, Shipping Office and Registry
  • 1845 – Liverpool Observatory opened – Waterloo Dock – also One O’clock Gun – demolished when grain houses built 1868
  • 1845 – Thomas Cook first ever trip for profit to Liverpool from Leicester
  • 1845 – White Star Line founded in Liverpool
  • 1843/47 – Albert Dock (Jesse Hartley) – Opened 1845
  • 1846 – Newsham House  – purchaced by Liverpool Council, 240 acre estate for £85,000
  • 1846 – Princes Road (boulevard) laid out, Upper parliament St to Princes Park – built up from 1860’s
  • 1846 – 23rd November – Clarence Temperence Hall opened
  • 1846 – 31st July – Prince Albert lays foundation stone for Sailors Home
  • 1846 – Hartfield House, which became Calder High School, was built by Charles Wilson
  • c1846 – The Apothecaries’ Hall, in Colquitt/Wood-street – very grand, back part remains on Seel St
  • c1846 – Piermasters House – only surviving one of 4 built at Albert Dock and 40 in total
  • 1846 – Crown St Goods Tunnel
  • 1846 – Liverpool Sanitary Act – sewers, drainage, paving of roads,
  • 1846 – Council appoints country’s first Medical Officer of Health – Dr William Henry Duncan
  • 1846 – 27 Castle St – offices for Ambrose Lace, attorney – still there
  • 1846 – William Lassel of West Derby discovered Triton, the largest moon of Neptune
  • 1846 – Well sank at Green Lane West Derby, and reservoir in Kensington
  • 1846 – The Clarence Temperance Hall, 23rd Nov
  • 1846 – May – Liverpool Telegraph Shipping Gazette published
  • 1846 – System of Master Porterage introduced by Docks Committee
  • 1846 – John Foster jnr dies and is buried at St James Cemetry
  • 1846 – Bevington Bush Baths (Paul St Baths)
  • 1846 – Liverpool YMCA formed
  • 1846/48 – Bank of England – Castle St (between Union Court-Cook St) – C.R. Cockerell
  • 1846/47 – Norwich Union Building – 27 Castle St (next to Bank of England)
  • 1847 – Liverpool Landing Stage – Iron floating stage for Pier Head ferry – Georges Dock
  • 1847 – Immigration from Ireland due to Potato Famine hits peak
  • 1847 – Statue of William Huskisson unveiled by Sir Robert Peel outside Customs House
  • 1847 – James Newland appointed as City Engineer – idea for Queens Drive
  • 1847- J A Picton builds Sandy Knowe for himself – Wavertree
  • 1847 – Over 5000 cellar dwellings declared unfit for human habitation
  • 1847 – An Act of Parliament allows the Leeds and Liverpool Canal Company to transport goods along the canal and compete better with railways
  • 1847 – Liverpool Water Act – allows city to look outside of boundaries for water supplies, and buy the two water companies
  • 1847 – Threlfalls Brewery in Trueman St.  Closed in 1982
  • 1847 – The Fairrie Sugar Refinery – Vauxhall Lane – merges with Tate & Lyle in 1929
  • 1847 – Charles Dickens performs at the Theatre Royal, Williamson Square, on 28th July
  • 1847 – Newington Buildings – Newington off Renshaw St
  • c1847 – St Joseph’s RC Church – Grovsenor St, on site of previous church – demolished 1979
  • 1847 – Fever Sheds – Mount Pleasant
  • 1847 – Holy Trinity Church – Breck Rd – still there
  • 1848 – St Francis Xaviers church – school 1857, college 1877 – Salisbury St Everton (sold to council 1941). Charlie Chaplin attended SFX school in 1900
  • 1848 – Salisbury Dock – Collingwood Dock – Stanley Dock –   Bramley Moore Dock – Nelson Dock
  • 1848 – Salisbury Dock Masters Office
  • 1848 – Victoria Tower and Dock Masters House, Salisbury Dock – still there
  • 1848 – Link between Leeds/Liverpool Canal and Stanley Docks – Jesse Hartley – only all granite locks in UK
  • c1848 – Boys’ Refuge Industrial School for Catholic Boys – founded by Christian brothers – Soho St              1848 – Ocean Monarch sinks off Llandudno – 178 die
  • 1848 – Dock Traffic Office (Albert Dock, old Granada TV Building)
  • 1848 – Christ’s Church Great Homer St.  Destroyed in The Blitz
  • 1848 – St Paul’s CofE Church Belvidere Rd – Princes Park
  • 1848 – Hydraulic warehouse hoists installed in Albert Dock – a world first
  • 1848 – 14/16 Bold St, frontage by1861 – for John Cripps, shawl merchant and manufacturer
  • 1848 – Roscoe Arcade is in place in Bold St
  • 1848/71 – Sewer System built by James Newlands. Newlands original sewering of the city to convey foul drainage to the river was the major factor in eliminating typhoid and cholera
  • 1848 – Great Howard St Railway Station opened (converted to goods station when Exchange opened in 1850)
  • 1848 – Liverpool Trade Guards Association formed
  • 1848 – Waterloo Goods Station opens – between Oil St/Formby St
  • 1848 – St Edwards College – St Domingo House
  • 1848 – Everton Barracks – Ruperts Lane
  • 1848 – Amalgamation by A.o.P of Liverpool Gas Light Company and the New Gas and Coke Company to form the Liverpool United Gas Company
  • 1849 – Philarmonic Hall built – burned and rebuilt 1933 – H.J.Rowse
  • 1849 – Father Nugent finds Ragged School in Copperas Hill
  • 1849 – St Augustines Church – Great Howard St – Demolished 1976
  • 1849 – St Peters Church – Sackville St Everton
  • 1849 -Victoria-Waterloo Tunnel
  • 1849 – Allerton Tower based on a design by Harvey Lonsdale Elmes
  • 1849 – St. Alban’s, Athol Street opened
  • 1849 – Liverpool Industrial School for Girls – 39 Northumberland Terrace
  • 1849 – The Jhelum, a fine 3-masted bark, was built at Queens Dock by Joseph Steel & Son for their own account – hulk remains still in Port Stanley, Falklands
  • 1849 – Rose Hill Bridewell – (previously gas pumping station) – closed 1972
  • 1849 – Leveson St Masacre – renamed Grenville St South
  • 1849/51 – Institute for the Blind – Hardman St. (see 1800 – moved here brick by brick from London Rd)
  • 1850 – First LYR railway station on Tithebarn, later rebuilt/expanded by Exchange Station in 1888 (closed 1977 replaced by Moorfields) –  streets lost – Key Street – Plumbe St – McViccar St – Lumbar St
  • 1850 – Liverpool Sailors Home opened 16th Dec – Canning Place – finally demolished in 1974
  • c1850 – Seel House – Seel St – for T. & T. Vickers & Co., engineers and iron founders. Now Base2stay
  • 1850 – Royal Liver Friendly Society formed as a burial club. Registered 14th Aug, first office 14 Pickop St. It was formed by 9 working men in a pub known as the Lyver Inn
  • 1850/54 – Walton Gaol built- first hanging 1887
  • 1851/55 – Wapping Dock Warehouses
  • 1849/52 – Kirkdale beach becomes docks – Wellington, Huskinson, Sandon
  • 1850 – Toxteth has now grown beyond Park St
  • c1850 – Midland Railway Goods Station – completed 1874 – now Conservation Centre – Whitechapel/Crosshall St
  • 1850 – The Royal Coliseum Theatre and Music Hall, in Liverpool’s Paradise Street opened
  • 1850 – Modern Liverpool Chamber of Commerce
  • 1850 – Creation of Liverpool Diocese
  • 1850 – St Nicholas pro cathedral Copperas Hill, demolished 1972
  • 1850 – St John’s National School – Great Crosshall St – still there
  • 1850 – Artist Sarah Biffen dies, buried at St James Cemetery
  • 1850 – Sandon Dock – modernised 1901 (biggest entrance in port) still open
  • 1850 – Robert Cain opens pub in Limekiln Lane; Opens brewery in Stanhope St in 1858
  • 1851 – Bootle still a separate village
  • 1851 – Liverpool Infirmary becomes Royal Liverpool Infirmary following visit by Queen Victoria
  • 1851 – St Mary’s, the Chapel of the School for the Indigent Blind, Hardman Street/Hope Street
  • 1851 – Population 376,000
  • 1851 – Sandfield Tower – West Derby
  • 1851 – ‘Warehouse keepers’ more prominent – now 16 listed
  • 1851 – During excavations at junction of Lord St/Whitechapel/Paradise St find stone arches of the old ‘pool bridge’
  • 1851 – 13th Earl of Derby dies and leaves collections to museum
  • 1851/52 – James Baines – The Black Ball Line – clippers to Australia,
  • 1851 – Cornwallis St Baths. – Closed 1967
  • 1852 – Derby Museum of the Borough of Liverpool – original Museum of Liverpool opened in Union building on corner of Parr St/Slater St – still there – attracted 157,861 visits in its first 32 weeks
  • 1852 – Egyptian Museum – Colquitt St – Joseph Mayer
  • 1852 – Grove Park laid out (Lodge Lane/Sefton Pk Rd)
  • 1852 – Ye Cracke – Rice St (originally The Ruthin Castle)
  • 1852 – St Judes School (associated with church)
  • 1852 – Huskisson Dock opened – enlarged 1860’s
  • 1852 – Wapping Basin and Dock – Kings Dock narrowed by 60ft to accommodate
  • 1852 – Baths Committee established
  • 1852 – Athol St Bridewell – demolished 1970’s
  • 1852/55 – Stanley Dock Hydraulic Power Centre to West of North Stanley Warehouse, Regent Road
  • 1852/54 – North Fort constructed
  • 1852/53 – Samuel Holme Mayor – idea for civic area in William Brown St
  • 1852/53 – Liverpool’s first Public Library and Museum – Duke St/Slater St
  • 1853 – George Henry Lee founded as a bonnet shop  – 12 Basnett St (rebuilt 1910) – Eventually taken over by John Lewis’s together with Bon Marche
  • 1853 – There are now 32 Ragged Schools open in Liverpool
  • c1853 – Holy Cross Catholic School, Fontenoy St
  • 1853 – Notre Dame High School – Maryland St
  • 1853 – West Derby Church – St Mary’s
  • 1853 – Park Hill Reservoir, Toxteth – still there
  • 1853 – Garston Docks opened – chiefly for coal
  • 1853 – Nathanial Hawthorne arrives as American consul.                Also lodged at 153 Duke St, boarding house ran by Mrs Mary Blodgett
  • 1853 – Father Nugent founds The Catholic Institute – Hope St
  • 1853 – Prescot St. Bridewell
  • 1853/54 – Albert Dock – The west and east ends of the south stack of warehouses (now Britannia Pavilion) are built, to meet demand for more accommodation
  • 1854 – Mersey Rowing Club formed
  • 1854 – St Georges Hall opens (Harvey Lonsdale Elms)
  • 1854 – Palatine Club – 7 Bold St/Rotunda Place. Formed in 1835 in an existing building higher up Bold St on same side
  • 1854 – Church of the Holy Innocents opens. Demolished 1934 for Myrtle Gardens
  • 1854 – A mass snow-ball fight takes place in Exchange Flags
  • 1854 – Robert Cain buys larger brewery on Wilton St
  • 1854 – St Chrysostom church Audley St – demolished 1970
  • 1855 – Cranmer Methodist, Vauxhall Road
  • 1855 – Liverpool Daily Post first published – 1d
  • 1855 – Houses on south side of Shaws Brow removed, street widened and graveyard extended. Creates an open vista to St Georges Hall
  • 1855 – Hunger riots in liverpool – Bread Riots
  • 1855 – Training ship TS Akbar
  • 1855 – Jones, Quiggan & Co founded – ship builders
  • 1855 – Stanley Dock North & South Warehouses
  • 1855 -Liverpool Improvement Act 15th July allows for work on Shaws Brow/William Brown St to accommodate museum, library. Plot of land on corner of Byrom St/Shaw’s Brow bought from a Mr. Bradshaw for £3,500
  • 1855 – Liverpool Corporation buys Birkenhead Docks – £1,143,000
  • 1855 – Area between Crosshall and Sir Thomas St cleared (including Saracens Head, Flying Horse, Old White Lion Inn) eventually site of Municipal Buildings. Site of Charles Hengler’s circus (permanent site) opened 15th March 1857
  • 1856/58 – Liverpool and London Globe Insurance Building, No. 1 Dale Street. Site of original Town Hall. A police station also here as late as 1848
  • 1856 – Lewis’s Dept Store founded – women’s added 1864. In 1879 holds worlds first Christmas grotto in Bon March.
  • 1856 – The second Tower called Tower Buildings, a large Italianate office block by J. A. Picton. Demolished in the early 20th century.
  • 1856 – Short arm built off/below first lock of Stanley Basin for the Bridgwater Canal
  • 1856 – The Liverpool College for Girls at Grove Street was established
  • 1856 – Tower Buildings rebuilt and Water St widened
  • 1856 – The writer Jessie Vaizey (née Bell) was born at number 47 Myrtle Street South
  • 1856 – The 21ton Horsfall Gun built at Mersey Forge Sefton St – largest in world – could fire a 300lb cannon ball five miles
  • 1856 – The Sisters of Notre Dame open Our Lady’s Training College, a Roman Catholic college for women – Mount Pleasant – still there part of LJMU
  • 1856 – Four Liverpool Park keepers appointed
  • 1856 – Corporation acquires Stable Yard in Edgehill after Williamson dies
  • 1856/58 – Albany Building – Old Hall St –   J.K.Colling for wealthy banker Richard Christopher Naylor
  • 1856 – Hebrew Congregation Synagogue – now Unity Theatre – Hope Place – Thomas Wylie
  • 1856 – Policeman’s Lodge at Wapping Dock
  • 1856 – St Vincent De Paul Church – St James St/Hardy St – still there
  • 1856 – Catholic Apostolic Church, Catharine Street/Canning St
  • 1856 – St Aidan – Latham St, Kirkdale
  • 1856 – All Souls Church – Eaton St, by canal
  • 1856 – Wapping Hydraulic Tower
  • 1856 – Wavertree Botanic Gardens opened out top the public
  • 1856 – Toxteth Cemetery opened – William Gay of Bradford was charged with the design, and Thomas Denville Barry the architecture,      first interment was that of an Elizabeth Watling on 17th June 1856.
  • 1857 – Main Bridewell Prison – Cheapside
  • c1857 – Conway St/Gordon St/Elias St laid out
  • 1857 – Toxteth Union formed – The parish of Toxteth Park originally formed part of the West Derby Union which came into existence in 1837. However, on 24th June 1857 it became an independent Poor Law Parish
  • 1857 – Liverpool Salvage Assoc. founded
  • 1857 – Thomas and James Harrison bought their first iron hulled sailing ship, ‘The Philosopher’
  • 1857 – Second public aquarium in the world opened within Derby Museum – Duke St/Slater St
  • 1857 – Liverpool Football (Rugby) Club formed – first open rugby club in the world – (now Liverpool St Helens, 1986)
  • 1857 – Liverpool Borough Bank goes bust
  • 1857 – James Carling – pavement artist – born at 38 Addison St
  • 1857 – Mersey Docks and Harbour Board formed. Arose out of Manchester Chamber of Commerce, Manchester Commercial Assoc. and GWR proposing a bill to parliament. Ill-feeling had existed for years due to merchants using port believing Liverpool only used money to benefit the town and not the Port. Remit of MDHB – levies and taxes to be used for the benefit of The Port of Liverpool. Liverpool Corporation receives £1.5million compensation for loss of dues, and £1.143m for Birkenhead Docks.
  • 1856/57 – Pugin Lady Chapel – Our Lady of The Immaculate Conception – St Domingo Road
  • 1856/57 – High Level Coal Railway – Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway – Bramley-Moore Dock
  • 1857 – The water area in 1857 amounted to 192 acres 129 sq. yds., or an increase of over 82 acres in twenty-five years. River wall extended just over 5 miles
  • 1857 – Liverpool branch of the Mercantile Marine Service Association was established in order to improve the competence and standards of the ships, officers and men
  • 1857 – Princes Landing Stage opens 1st Sept
  • 1857 – Mount Vernon Green Girls’ Reformatory School opens
  • 1857 – Outdoor Gymnasium- Smithdown Rd – Charles Melly
  • 1857 – The first general meeting of the newly formed County Palatine Loan and Investment Company Clarendon Rooms on 4 September 1857
  • 1857 – Rivington Water Works completed, water delivered to Everton Water Tower
  • 1857 – Dec – two captured guns from battle in Sebastopol placed outside St Georges – later moved to Wavertree Park
  • 1857/59 – Magistrates Courts – Dale St
  • 1858 – Scarletina (scarlet fever) epidemic results in the death of over 1,100 children
  • c1858 – St Georges Industrial School – Everton Crescent, moves to West Derby Rd (later Ogdens site)
  • 1858 – Robert Cain acquires existing ‘Mersey’ brewery – Cains Brewery – red brick building and tower – Stanhope St. Buys it from George Hindley vicar of St Georges Everton
  • 1858 – 25 Church St – for art metalworkers and electroplaters Elkington’s                – now Clarks Shoes
  • 1858 – Langdon’s’ Building – corner of Nelson St –
  • 1858 – Major developments in progress at Birkenhead Docks
  • 1858 – Steamer Douglas, starts operating for the Isle of Man Steam Packet – sold to the Confederacy, renamed Margaret and Jessie, and operated as a blockade runner until her capture by the Union on 5th November 1863. The ship was renamed USS Gettysburg, and commissioned into the Union Navy on 2nd May 1864.
  • 1858 – Liverpool Society for the Relief of Sick and Distressed Needlewomen.
  • 1858 – Liverpool Steam Ship Owners’ Association formed
  • 1858 – Holy Trinity Church – Parliament St
  • 1858 – Havelock Buildings – corner of Bold St/Berry St – contained Stortz’s Photographic Art Studios
  • 1858 – Museum of Anatomy in Paradise (Street)
  • 1858 – Reynolds Wax Works – Lime St
  • 1858/59 – Henry Morton Stanley – the man who immortalised the phrase, “Dr Livingstone, I presume?” – lived at 20 Roscommon St
  • 1859 – Start of the Volunteer Force/Movement for riflemen/artillery corps – forerunner of TAs
  • 1859 – Sinking of The Royal Charter – 26th Oct off Anglesey/Moelfra
  • 1859 – Canada Dock opens, enlarged 1896
  • 1859 – Liverpool Geological Society founded
  • 1859 – Hargreaves Building – No. 5 Chapel St – carved stone heads of historical figures associated with Latin America
  • 1859 – HMS Conway – training ship
  • 1859 – Evangelist Revival gathers pace in Liverpool
  • 1859 – UKs first tramway in Liverpool docks
  • 1859 – 33 drinking fountains inserted into dock wall
  • 1859 – 11 Dale St – Queen Insurance Co – J A Picton, also housed Liver Sketching Club from 3rd Jan 1891 until 1973
  • c1859 – Phrenological Institute 30 Mount Pleasant
  • 1859 – Export Carriage and Wheelworks, St Anne Street
  • 1859 – With Nightingale’s full support and encouragement William Rathbone founded the District Nursing Service in Liverpool
  • 1859 – The Crown Hotel Lime St
  • 1859 – Toxteth Workhouse – Smithdown Rd – became Smithdown Road Institution and then Sefton General Hospital. Large hospital extension added by 1905. Mental Wards added 1927
  • 1859 – Ford Catholic Cemetry – Bootle
  • 1859 – Pekin Buildings – Harrington St
  • c1860 – The Liverpool Road and Railway Omnibus Company formed by
  • 1860 – Thomas Ogden opens shop in Park Lane – see 1899 Boundary Lane factory
  • 1860 – Holy Cross Church – Standish St – near to pilgrimage site – site of St Patricks Cross. Demolished in 2003
  • 1860 – William Brown Museum and Free Library opened – all but façade destroyed in Blitz, rebuilt 1957
  • 1860 – St Johns Lane widened – steps leading to south portico of St Georges removed?
  • 1860 – The Rotunda Theatre Scotland/Stanley Rd – rebuilt 1878. Damaged in the Blitz
  • 1860 – Satirical newspaper The Porcupine founded
  • 1860 – Robert Cain is landlord of Transatlantic Hotel on Stanhope St
  • c1860 – Russell Buildings – School lane/Peters lane – still there
  • c1860 – Lombard Chambers – Ormond/Bixteth St – offices
  • 1860 – Kitty Wilkinson dies aged 74
  • 1860 – Jesse Hartley dies on 24th Aug aged 80
  • 1860 – There are now 5 hotels in Clayton Sq. – Feathers, Neptune, London, Brunswick and Temperance Hotel
  • 1860 – First Chinese immigrant sailors as a result of employment by Alfred Holt and Company establishing the Blue Funnel Shipping Line.
  • 1860 – The Fiery Cross launched – famous tea clipper – built by Chaloner of Liverpool, designed by William Rennie
  • 1860 – 29th April – fire at Sailors Home
  • 1860 – Charles Kuhn Prioleau and Mary Elizabeth WRIGHT were married on 3rd May 1860 in Walton-on-the-Hill Church
  • 1860 – Oakfield villas built – Breckfield off Oakfield Rd
  • 1860 – The Denbigh built at Birkenhead and runs from Liverpool-Rhyl
  • 1860’s – Exchange Buildings rebuilt – hydraulic lifts incorporated in 1866
  • 1861 – 12th April, a bloody 4 years in American history begin as Confederates open fire on Union-held Fort Sumter. To have big impact on Liverpool
  • 1861 – population 555,000
  • 1861- Prince of Wales Theatre – Clayton Square – was residence of Mrs Clayton, eventually becomes The Jacey Cinema
  • 1861/65 – Commander Bulloch was the Confederate States’ Navy secret purchasing agent in Liverpool during the American Civil War (1861-65) who operated out of the offices at Rumford Court/Place – Offices of Fraser, Trenholme (cotton) – senior partner was Charles Kuhn Prioleau. Henry Lafone was Confederate secret agent based in Liverpool. Due to her strong trading links with North America, and especially with the cotton-producing Confederate States of the south, Liverpool played a very important part in the American Civil War
  • 1861/72 – Thomas Haines Dudley – US Consul in Liverpool – Unionist spy
  • 1861 – 80th Lancashire Rifle Volunteers formed, HQ on 59 Everton Rd from 1884
  • 1861/63 – Richmond Building 26 Chapel St (JA Picton for William Brown)
  • 1861 – Liverpool – Holyhead Electric Telegraph
  • 1861 – Leigh Bridge – Athol St, over canal – still there
  • 1861 – Quaker cemetery – Arundel Ave off Smithdown – still there but no buildings
  • 1861 – Bridewell – Argyle/Campbell St – dates from 1850 – still present
  • 1861 – IK Brunels ‘Great Eastern’ sails from Liverpool on route to Quebec. On board – the 4/60th Rifles, consisting of 2,144 officers and men, 473 women and children and 200 horses
  • 1861 – Liverpool Rubber Co founded – 292 Vauxhall Road
  • 1861 – Jean Francois Blondin – world famous tightrope walker – Plumptons Hollow (Sheil Rd/Boaler St)
  • 1861 – Liverpool Savings Bank H/O – 93 Bold St
  • 1861 – James Dunwoody Bulloch arrives in Liverpool from Confederacy with orders for 6 steam vessels to blockade the Union
  • 1862 – The 1st Grand Olympic Festival in Liverpool was held on 14th June 1862 at the Mount Vernon Parade Ground with 10,000 spectators
  • 1862 – Rotunda Gymnasium – Bold St next to Lyceum
  • 1862 – Liverpool Hospital for Cancer and Skin Diseases moved in 1882 and becomes The Radium Institute – 1950s to Clatterbridge)
  • 1862 – Brocklebank Dock – Bootle now developing rapidly – beach disappears
  • c1862 – Stanley Rd laid out, Vauxhall Rd extended as Commercial Rd
  • 1862 – Castle Shipping Line founded – Donald Currie – Liverpool to Calcutta
  • 1862 – CSS Florida secretly leaves Liverpool on 22nd March – American Civil War against the Union – built by William C Miller and Sons
  • 1862 – On September 7th, a serious fire at the Brownlow workhouse destroyed the church and one of the children’s dormitories. Twenty-one children and two nurses were burnt to death
  • 1862 – Major Street Ragged School – Canon Major Lester
  • 1862 – Liverpool Training School and Home for Nurses established
  • 1862 – The Laird Rams – built for Confederacy at Birkenhead but never deployed
  • 1862 – St Michael’s RC Church – Horne St/West Derby Rd
  • 1862 – Henry Tate also started his own refinery at 1 Earle Street (east of Old Hall Street), and 2 years later added a molasses refinery at 1-3 Edmund Street. Moves to Love Lane in 1872
  • 1862 – Sheil Road and Sheil Park opened
  • 1862 – Sefton Park Cricket Club formed, Smithdown Rd – move to Sefton park in 1876
  • c1862 – Liverpool Dispensary for Diseases of the Teeth – 82 Russell St
  • 1863 – Wellington Statue – 16th May.
  • 1863 – Anfield Cemetery – Included 3 chapels – one remains
  • 1863 – First ‘Liverpool Special’ post-box, only 8 cast
  • 1863 – No. 12 Hanover St – warehouse/office block – still present
  • 1863 – Frank Hornby was born in Liverpool in 1863
  • 1863 – Conversion programme from ‘pail closets’ to ‘water closets’ starts (mostly complete by 1890’s)
  • 1863 – Alfred and Charles Booth established the partnership of Alfred Booth & Co. with the main purpose of importing English light leather to the U.S.A
  • 1863 – Four hangings at Kirkdale Gaol
  • 1863 – Margaret Street Baths – Everton
  • 1863 – Fabius Baptist Church Everton Road
  • 1863 – First Jewish Mayor – Charles Mozley. An anti-sematic sermon by St George’s church leads to Corporation to abandoning them and its subsequent decline
  • 1864 – Oriel Chambers – is the world’s first metal framed glass curtain walled building – Peter Ellis
  • 1864 – Building of ‘court’ housing is banned (at this time 3,073 comprising 17,835 houses and estimated 110,000 people)
  • 1864 – Brunswick Station – 1st June. Closed to passengers 2nd March 1874 and became Goods Station remaining in use until early 1970’s
  • 1864 – St Michaels Railway Station – (used for International Garden Festival in 1984)
  • 1864 – Aigburth Station Originally Mersey Road & Aigburth, opened as part of the Garston and Liverpool Railway line.
  • 1864 – Cressington Station
  • 1864 – Temple 22-24 Buildings Dale St – for banker Sir William Brown
  • 1864 – TS Indefatigable – John Clint a Liverpool ship owner, founded a charitable institution to train the sons of sailors, destitute and orphaned boys to become merchant seamen
  • 1864 – Liverpool Hospital for Consumption and Diseases of the Chest
  • 1864 – Dr. Sebastian Z. De Ferranti born in 130 Bold St
  • 1864 – Liverpool & Wigan Boats Mans Mission founded – had hall on Pall Mall from 1878 (some frontage remains)
  • 1864 – No. 16 Cook St – by Peter Ellis – all steel spiral staircase
  • 1864 – Large explosion on the Lotty Sleigh on the Mersey 15th Jan
  • 1864 – New arm of canal built at Phillips St – with 3 short arms – used for loading ‘night soil’. Manure/night soil removal is a key challenge as population expands – wharfs outside of town used for storage
  • 1864 – Nos. 48-50 Castle St – Mercantile and Exchange Bank – now William Hill Bookies
  • 1864 – Berey’s Building Bixteth St – still there
  • 1864 – Mary Prioleau famously holds a Confederate Bizarre at St Georges Hall
  • 1864 – SS Great Eastern sold 14th January 1864 in the Cotton Room at the Liverpool Exchange. The auctioneer, Joseph Cunard, of Cunard Wilson and Company
  • 1864 – William Brown dies on the 3rd March 1864, he died at his home on Richmond Hill, Anfield
  • 1864 – On 9th July – the 3rd Olympic Festival organised by the Liverpool Athletic Club held at Zoological Gardens
  • 1864 – Humyak House warehouse in Duke St – still there
  • 1864 – The foundation stone of the new Liverpool Gymnasium in Myrtle Street opposite the Philharmonic was laid on 19th July
  • 1864/69 – Walton Workhouse – became Walton Hospital, closed 1990’s
  • 1865 – On 28th May – 153 Welsh leave Liverpool for Patagonia – on The Mimosa
  • 1865 – Milepost on corner of Tetlow St, Walton Lane
  • 1865 – The New Liverpool Gymnasium, Myrtle Street, 6th Nov by Lord Stanley
  • 1865 – Liverpool River Police  (til 1920)
  • 1865 – Jones Quiggin & Co. launch 5 blockade-runners: Widgeon, Snipe, Curlew, Plover, Noor-el-Huda
  • c1865 – All Souls Church – Collingwood St off Scotland Rd – because people had no were to take the dead. Demolished 1968
  • 1865 – Playhouse built – rebuilt 1895, (1968 extended as now) – oldest repertory theatre in UK
  • 1865 – Dr John Bligh moves to 109 Mount Pleasant from Ireland
  • 1865 – Compton House rebuilt after fire (Europe’s first purpose built dept. store JR Jeffrey) – then Compton Hotel, M&S (1928)
  • 1865 – Agnes Jones takes over as Nursing Superintendent at Brownlow Hill Workhouse Hospital. Liverpool pioneered the use of trained nurses in workhouses through an experiment in 1865 funded by local philanthropist William Rathbone
  • 1865 – Liverpool Construction Act was passed on 26 May – inc St Anne St extended into Cazenau St – St Anne’s rebuilt (1871) corner of Great Richmond St
  • 1865 – Liverpool Improvement Act 1865 – led to parks development
  • 1865 – Great Drought – adverse effects on trade and health
  • 1865 – Liverpool Tramways Company lays trial track in Castle St – horse drawn trams – not successful?
  • 1865 – George and Phillip Holt register Ocean Steamship Company
  • 1865 – The so-called ‘New’ ferry service was introduced between Liverpool Pier Head, Toxteth and Birkenhead
  • 1865 – On 6th November – the final act of the American Civil War is the surrender of Confederate ship Shenandoah to the Mayor of Liverpool
  • 1861/65 – Chatham Building built – Chatham St C.M. Chapel – now part of university
  • 1862/68 – Municipal Buildings Dale St
  • c1865 – Victoria St cut out – many court slums demolished
  • 1865 – Fowlers Building – Victoria St built by Sir James Picton, for Fowler Brothers, international dealers in foodstuffs. Earliest grand building in the new Victoria St
  • c1865 – Smaller houses start to be built in Breckfield area – Thirlmere Rd and side streets (all named after Lake District lakes)
  • 1865 – Costain Group founded by Richard Costain
  • 1866 – Sefton Park Mews – livery stable – Lodge Lane
  • 1866 – Incline to Horsfall St from Sefton St – included urinals and horse trough – still there
  • 1866 – Toxteth Town Hall – High Park St
  • 1866 – The North End Homeopathic Dispensary opened in Wilbraham Street, moving to 10 Roscommon Street in 1872
  • 1866 – Chisenhale St Bridge built across canal
  • c1866 – Wesleyan Chapel 81 – 95 Shaw St – became Shaw St Synagogue c1908 – destroyed in Blitz
  • 1866 – Monarch of the Seas leaves for New York but is lost and never found
  • 1866 – No. 96 Bold St – former Dreaper’s Pianoforte Warehouse, now occupied by News From Nowhere
  • 1866 – George and Phillip Holt invest in 3 new steamships – Agamemomn – Ajax – Achilles. The Agamemnon leaves Liverpool for China on 19th April
  • 1866 – Prince Albert equestrian statue St Georges Plateau
  • 1866 – On 14th Feb – first voyage of the Booth Steamship Company left Liverpool for Pará Brazil
  • 1866 – Empire Theatre, Lime St (initially Prince of Wales Theatre) rebuilt 1925. On 29th July 1867 its name changed to the Royal Alexandra Theatre and Opera House to honour the Princess of Wales
  • 1866 – Herculaneum Docks open (filled and closed after 1972)
  • 1866/68 – Waterloo Grain warehouse built x 3 , one survives as Waterloo Apartments
  • 1866/68 – County Palantine Buildings – School Lane
  • 1866 – North Hay Market – Gt Homer/Cazneau St
  • 1867 – Josephine Butler House built, Myrtle St – demolished in 2009
  • 1867 – Central Fire Station – Hatton Garden (top end of Tithebarn St – Dale St)) – backs onto Main Bridewell
  • 1867 – Linacre Gas Works – off Marsh Lane by the canal
  • 1867 – Sefton Park laid out
  • 1867 – Stanley Hospital – Kirkdale first opened for women and children
  • 1867 – No. 83 Church St built (by date on building)
  • 1867 – London Carriage Works – Hope St (now a hotel)
  • 1867 – Vandyke & Brown photographers – 34 Castle St/42 Virgil St – later Bold St and South Hunter St
  • 1867 – ‘The Octagon’ Grove St – built as house by J.W.Hayward
  • 1867 – Liverpool Corporation purchase Britains first steamroller
  • 1867 – On-going disputes with Birkenhead ref amount of relative investment compared to Liverpool docks
  • 1867 – Liverpool Velocipedes is the country’s first cycling club
  • 1868 – First borough to secure and Act of Parliament to establish a tram system.                Liverpool Tramway Co starts construction of the Inner Circle and the lines to Walton and Dingle.
  • 1868 – Newsham Park opened
  • 1868 – Bootle-cum-Linacre, Fairfield and part of Wavertree were added to the parliamentary borough, which then received a third seat
  • 1868 – Owen Owen founded – London Rd, then Clayton Sq. (1925) , then as TJ Hughes in London Rd
  • 1868 – Runcorn Railway Bridge
  • 1868 – Burials exhumed from St Peters for widening of Church St
  • 1868 – nos. 60/62 Castle Street – built for Alliance Bank (then North and South Wales Bank)
  • c1868 – Princes Dock modernised
  • c1868 – Aigburth Hall built for Charles Chaloner – demolished for housing 1935
  • 1868 – Adelphi re-built
  • 1868 – Ayrton Saunders Co Ltd (chemist) Hanover St – now Gostins Building
  • 1868 – Liverpool is the first borough to gain an Act of Parliament to establish a tram network
  • 1868 – Welsh Presbyterian Church – Toxteth/Welsh Cathedral – Princes Rd
  • 1868 – St Timothy’s – Rokeby St, Everton – closed 1957, hall remained til 1970’s
  • c1868 – Batavia Buildings – Hackins Hey on site of old Quaker House
  • 1868 – Masons Building – Exchange St East – had Crooked Billet Restaurant in basement (named after the old pub)
  • 1868 – Oakfield Road, Anfield laid out and built up
  • 1868/70 – St Johns Church – Tuebrook
  • 1869 – Our Lady of Reconciliation de la Salette – Eldon Place, Vauxhall
  • 1869 – Tramways start with 16 horse-drawn carraiges – 1st Nov
  • 1869 – Welsh Baptist Chapel – Village St Everton
  • 1869 – St Nathaniel’s Church – Upper Parliament St
  • 1869 – St Margaret of Antioc – Princes Rd
  • 1869 – Knotty Ash Brewery, Prescot Rd Knotty Ash
  • 1869 – Joseph Robinson founded his stove enamelling company in Grafton Street – eventually becomes part of Robinson Willey
  • 1869 – The Oceanic Navigation Company Founded by T. H. Ismay
  • 1869 – Thingwall House Knotty Ash
  • 1869 – Charles Dickens pays his final visits to Liverpool inc dinner at St Georges Hall on 10th April
  • 1869 – Home for Incurables – 96 Upper Parliament St. Founded by Josephine Butler, a ‘House of Rest’ for women suffering from incurable chronic diseases; from 1975 began to admit male chronic cases
  • 1869 – Notre Dame Collegiate College – Everton Valley
  • 1869 – St. Martin’s Cottages, Silvester St, Vauxhall were Europe’s first municipal housing
  • 1868/71 – Lime St Station Hotel (North Western Hotel) (now LJMU halls)
  • 1870 – By now Toxteth is built up to to Wellington Rd
  • 1870 – Workshops for the Outdoor Blind – Cornwallis St – still there
  • c1870 – Liverpool Union Bank Head Office – Brunswick St/Fenwick St
  • 1870 – Greek Orthodox Church of St Nicholas – Berkley St/Princes Rd
  • 1870 – Compton House – School Lane – warehouse
  • 1870 – John Houlding opens brewery in Tynemouth St Everton. The company, along with 21 licensed houses, was taken over by Ind Coope & Allsopp Ltd, Burton-on-Trent, Staffordshire, in 1939 and ceased to brew
  • 1870 – Breck Road Station – closed to passengers 1948 – closed completely 1969
  • 1870 – On 24th Jan – 15 people crushed to death at St Joseph’s, Grosvenor St after shout of ‘fire’
  • 1870 – Liverpool Institute of Chartered Accountants – North John St
  • c1870s – ‘Little Italy’ – Gerard St, Circus St area based in St Josephs and Holy Cross Parishes
  • 1870 – Ramsbottom’s Chimney – Smithdown rd/Crown St – to extract steam from Lime St Tunnel
  • 1870 – Byrom St widened and St Stephens rebuilt located
  • 1870 – Statues by Benjamin Edward Spence, presented by the sculptor’s widow – Picton Reading Rooms – Jeanie Deans, The Lady of the Lake, Highland Mary
  • 1870 – Liverpool ‘Evening Express’ first published – runs until 1958
  • 1870 – Stanley Station opened, Anfield & Walton Station opened. Both closed by 1948
  • 1870 – Stanley Park opened – 14th May – 25,000+ in attendance
  • 1870 – WE Gladstone PM for first time, again in 1880, 1886, 1892
  • 1870 – Gladstone Conservatory erected in Stanley park
  • 1870 – Grand Fancy Fair , Flower Show and Bazaar Stanley Park – in aid of new Stanley Hospital
  • 1870/72 – Bootle Borough Hospital – Derby Rd/Nelson St Bootle – closed 1976 – buildings still there as Mast House
  • 1870 – St Brigid’s – Bevington Hill – demolished 1967
  • c1870s – Mason St/Highgate St – Edge Hill – many HQ/Drill Halls etc for Lancashire Voluntary Corps
  • 1870/73 – Robson St laid out/widened
  • 1871 – Georges Dock Basin closed
  • 1871 – Queen Victoria equestrian statue St Georges Plateau
  • 1871 – St Ambrose Church – Prince Edwin St
  • 1871 – St Domingo Chapel – Breckfield Road North – Everton FC formed here in 1870
  • 1871 – Park Police become Special Constables
  • 1871 – Maiden voyage of RMS Oceanic for White Star – 2nd March
  • 1871 – Streatlam Tower, Princes Ave. By W&G Audsley for James L Bowes wool merchant – housed his Japanese art collection (museum 1890). In 1888 Bowes was appointed the Honorary Japanese Consul at Liverpool, the first such appointment in the UK
  • 1871 – Sefton Barracks Windsor St – 8th Lancashire Artillery Volunteers
  • 1871 – Toxteth Tabernacle – Prk Rd
  • 1871/72 – Mayor – John Pearson
  • 1871 – Nos. 59-61 Tithebarn – former printing and bookbinding factory – Union Paper & Printing Co.
  • 1872 –    Blackstock St School – may be Bevington Bush School as 1848 map – walls still there
  • 1872 – Imperial Chambers – Dale St (offices look onto central space)
  • 1872 – Royal Southern Hospital – Caryl St (replaces Southern and Toxteth)
  • 1872 – Liverpool United Gas Company showroom, opened at Duke Street
  • 1872 – Tates Sugar Refinery – Love Lane – amalgamates with Lyle 1921. Takes over Fairre & Co in 1929, and Macfie & Co in 1938
  • 1872 – St Paul’s Eye Hospital – St Pauls Sq – moves to Old Hall St 1912
  • 1872 – Sefton Park opened 20th May – 266 acres – home to Mersey Bowmen Tennis Club 1887 – Sefton Cricket Club 1876 – Sefton Park Bowling Club 1884
  • 1872 – Masonic Hall – Hope St – on site of original building. The Property was purchased on the 27th April 1857.  Opened 8th Oct 1858.  Extended 1932 – grand entrance demolished.
  • 1872 – The Liver Sketching Club formed
  • 1872 – Steam locomotives come into use on the docks
  • 1872 – Salisbury St RC School – rebuilt 1920 – closed 1980, became furniture warehouse now demolished
  • 1872 – Sir Charles Sydney Jones born 7th Feb
  • 1872 – St Bridget’s Church – Lawrence Rd/Bagot St – still there
  • 1872 – Seels Building – corner of Church St/Paradise St – still there
  • 1872 – Wavertree Town Hall – still there
  • 1873 – Liverpool Council of Education founded
  • 1873 – Georges Dock filled in and Water St and Brunswick St extended)
  • 1873 – First Sheltering Home for Children opened on Byrom St (later Myrtle St – see 1888)
  • 1873 – Andrew Barclay Walker – Mayor
  • 1873 – St Lawrence CE School – Croylands St off Barlow Lane
  • 1873 – St Lawrence CE Church Barlow Lane
  • 1873 – Sandon & Canada Goods Station – 2nd June
  • 1873 – Major plans drawn up to extend docks north, south, and east. Powers obtained to borrow £4,100,000
  • 1873 – New offices and warehousing built at Old Hall St canal basin
  • 1873 – On 24th Dec – Brazilian Vice-Consul Joas Baptiste Cafferena killed crossing line at Broad Green Station
  • 1873/74 – The Vandyke & Brown printing works and equestrian studio moved to 19a Hardman Street and remained there until at least 1875 when the partnership was dissolved. Richard Brown immediately created the new firm of Brown, Barnes & Bell
  • 1874 – Roscommon St School – 1936 Senior School (closed 1973) –
  • c1874 – Newsham Park Windmill built to pump water between the two lakes – worked til 1920’s demolished 1954
  • 1874 – Steble St Baths and Wash-house
  • 1874 – St Silvester’s School – Silvester St
  • 1874 – Liverpool Royal Infirmary School of Medicine Debating Society founded – became Medical Students Society (M.S.S.) in 1943
  • 1874 –  ‘Tithebarn St Outrage’ – murder of Richard Morgan by High Rip gang. McCrave and Mullen were hanged at Kirkdale on 3rd January 1875
  • 1874 – Bankhall St Canal Warehouse – still there
  • 1874 – Landing Stage fire 28th July
  • 1874 – Triennial Music Festival revived after 40 years – held at Philarmonic Hall – 29th/30th Sept, 1st Oct
  • 1874 – Central Station opened (high level station demolished 1973)
  • 1874 – Princes Road Synagogue – built to replace the older one in Seel Street. Consecrated 3rd Sept at a ceremony led by Chief Rabbi Dr Nathan M Adler.
  • 1874 – St Philemon’s Church – Windsor St
  • 1874 – Liverpool St James Station opens – closed 1917
  • 1874 – Liverpool Seaman’s Orphan Institution founded – temporary building rented at 128 Duke St – moves to Newsham Park in 1874 and on 30th Sept stages a Royal opening by H.R.H. The Duke of Edinburgh. In 1879 opening of a sanatorium. In 1900 Swimming Pool opens. In 1937 – School Block opens. Closed 1948, opened as Park Hospital 1954
  • 1875 – By end of year 60.75miles of tram lines in Liverpool
  • 1875 – Baptist Chapel, Walton lane
  • c1875 – Rapid expansion of housing off Edge Lane
  • 1875 – Fanny Louisa Calder began teaching cookery classes for adults at St George’s Hall. It develops into school at corner of Seel/Colquitt St – now Elysian Fields.  Calder set up the Northern Union of
  • Training Schools of Cookery in 1876, and the national Association of Teachers of Domestic Science in 1897.
  • 1875 – Liverpool British Workman Public House Company formed – temperance – became Liverpool Cocoa Rooms
  • 1875 – Zultan of Zanibar visits Seamans Orphange Newsham Park, 8th July
  • 1875 – Victoria Hall, Victoria St – Christian Business men erect wooden hall, Feb/March to discourage drinking
  • c1875 – Large block on corner of Richmond St/Whitechapel – by H H Vale
  • 1875 – Calderstones estate bought by shipping magnate Charles MacIver
  • 1875 – Pupil Teachers’ College was established in two houses in Shaw Street, (later in Clarence St)
  • 1875 – YMCA Mount Pleasant (now Hatters) – first purpose built YMCA in the world!
  • 1875 – Stanley Park Baptist Church – Walton lane
  • 1874/75 – The Beaufort Street School
  • 1875 – Mossley Hill Church
  • 1876 – Pier Head and Prince’s Landing Stage joined together- larger vessels – longest in world at the time
  • 1876 – Liverpool Rubber Co invents/names ‘plimsolls’
  • 1876 – Presbyterian Church of England,  formed by merger of the United Presbyterian Church and various English and Scottish Presbyterian congregations – Philharmonic Hall 13th June
  • 1876 – Hengler’s Grand Cirque, West Derby Road opens on 13th Nov. Became site of Hippodrome in 1902.
  • 1876 – Jim Larkin born Combermere St
  • 1876 – No. 73 Anfield Rd built – John Houlding’s house – still there
  • 1876 – The Liverpool Road and Railway Omnibus Company, and the Liverpool Tramway Company merged as the Liverpool United Tramways and Omnibus Company
  • 1876 – Aigburth Cocoa Rooms – Aigburth Vale – still there (Peoples Hall)
  • 1876 – Messrs Busby Funeral Carriage and Coaching Ltd- St Anne St – still there
  • 1877 – William Theodore Bent has a brewery at 30/32 Johnson Street, after which it traded as Rowland Bent & Co
  • 1877 – Westminster Rd Baths opened
  • 1877 – The North Wall Lighthouse – ‘The Bootle Bull’ – Gladstone Dock – demolished when dock built
  • 1877 – Walker Art Gallery opened – named after Andrew Barclay Walker, Mayor, of brewery fame
  • 1877 – St Peter’s Church, built in 1877 by J. Warrington
  • 1877 – Liverpool Racquet Club – Upper Parliament St – destroyed in Toxteth Riots 1981 – now in Chapel St
  • 1877 – Photographer, Aaron Vandyke also advertised from 64a Bold Street and in 1881 from 39 Bold Street as well
  • 1877 – St Cuthbert’s – Robson St Anfield – demolished 1970
  • c1877 – Gladstone Buildings – Union Court off Cook St
  • 1877 – No. 1 Castle St – Agnews Exchange Art Gallery – still there
  • 1877 – Peter Kavanaghs Pub – Egerton St
  • 1877 – Mersey Chambers – Old Church Yard – still there
  • 1877/78 – Hanover St/Paradise St junction realigned – north side of Hanover St to current line, Paradise St extended to Park Lane
  • 1878 – St Domingo’s football Club formed – became Everton in 1879
  • 1878 – St Bridgit’s School Limekiln Lane – Father O’Donovan
  • 1878 – Second sailors Home opened – ‘North End Home’ only operated until 1906
  • 1878 – Branch Dock and 61 Casemates dug out at Herculaneum Docks
  • 1878 – Three Legs of Man Pub – next to Empire on corner – demolished 1999 for theatre expansion
  • 1878 – Albert Dock Pump House (now Pumphouse Inn 1986)
  • 1878 – North & South Wales Bank – St James St/Great George St – still there
  • 1878 – St Gabriel CofE Church – Yates St Toxteth
  • 1878 – Mount Carmel Church – High Park St Toxteth
  • 1878 – Former Victoria Chapel – Crosshall St – still there
  • 1878 – Bon Marche Dept Store founded (David Lewis) – Basnett St
  • 1878 – Forty people killed following false call of ‘fire’ at Royal Colosseum Theatre, Paradise St
  • 1878 – The Liverpool Cotton Bank is established – 14th April
  • 1878 – Petony’s Building – St James Place
  • c1878 – Crosshall Building – Crosshall St
  • c1878 – Percy Buildings – Erberle St
  • c1878 – Cross’s Menagarie – Old Hall, then Earle St
  • 1878 – On 1st June – North of England Monster Meet of Bicyclists at Sefton Park
  • 1878 – The Lodge Lane baths and wash house was built on the corner of Lodge Lane and Grierson Street, next door to the water pumping station
  • 1879 – Seaforth Battery completed
  • 1879 – Everton FC play their first game – at Stanley Park v St Peters Church on 20th Dec
  • 1879 – Monday May 5th Opening of a sanatorium at the Seamen’s Orphanage.
  • 1879 – Liverpool Echo first published
  • 1879 – Picton Reading Rooms (extension to William Browns library of 1860). Picton Hall below.
  • 1879 – Liverpool Corporation Electric Lighting Act
  • 1879 – Steble Fountain – named after Colonel Steble who was Mayor in 1874
  • 1879 – Imperial Buildings – apex of Victoria St/Whitechapel
  • 1879 – Anfield Cycling Club formed
  • 1879 – No. 100 Bold St – presently occupied by Petticoat Lane and a newsagent –
  • 1879 – Knotty Ash and Stanley Railway Station – closed to passengers 1960, closed completely 1972
  • 1879 – Death of Hugh Shimmin founder of the satirical newspaper The Porcupine
  • 1879 – Huskisson Goods Station – between Sandhills/Boundary St
  • 1879 – Peter Walker Snr dies (brewer) – Andrew Barclay Walker takes control of company
  • 1879 – A screw-driven ferry was introduced on the Liverpool to Woodside route. This was the Oxton, which was the first so-called ‘luggage-boat’ which could carry vehicles
  • 1879 – Commercial Saleroom Building – Victoria St/Temple Court – James F Doyle – apple trading exchange
  • c1879 – No.92 Bold St
  • 1879 – ‘Reform Club’ Building 31 Dale St  – now Trident House
  • 1879/81 – St Cyprians Church – Edge Lane/Durning Rd
  • 1880 – Liverpool becomes a city – Queen Victoria
  • 1880 – Liverpool Eye and Ear Hospital – Myrtle St – still there
  • 1880 – Simpson & Roberts founded – now Princes Foods –
  • 1880/01 – MDHB reduce rates and dues at the port, again in 1884
  • 1880 – Everton Cemetery – Long Lane Fazakerley
  • 1880 – St Luke’s Art Workshop – Myrtle St
  • 1880/83 – Westminster Chambers – Dale St/Crosshall/Preston St
  • 1880 – First Bishop of Liverpool at St Peter’s – John Charles Ryle
  • c1880 – Former Bradford Hotel – corner of Pall Mall/Tithebarn – still there
  • c1880 – The Arkles Pub
  • c1880 – Welsh Streets built in Toxteth by and for Welsh workers
  • 1880s – Mildmay House – Blachburne Place
  • c1880 – Effingham St Warehouses – still there – scene of fire 1892
  • 1880/87 – High Rip Gang notorius
  • 1880/87 – Edge Lane, Durning Road, and Wavertree Road were planned out
  • c1880 – Two steam hopper barges purchased, Alpha and Beta, to dump refuse beyond The Bar
  • 1881 – Langton Dock opens – part used since 1879 (water admitted 3rd March 79)
  • 1881 – Langton Castle pub – Regent Rd/Nelson St
  • 1881 – Kirkdale Cemetery – Longmoor Lane Fazakerley
  • 1881 – Alexandra Docks and station opens. Station closed 1967
  • 1881 – No.1 Victoria St – offices above restaurant for brewer Andrew Barclay Walker
  • 1881 – First police horse-drawn patrol vehicles introduced
  • 1881 – King’s Regiment Liverpool – becomes city’s regiment – formed 1685 as Princess Anne of Denmark Reg.
  • 1881 – The 2nd Lancashire Artillery Volunteers are listed at Windsor Barracks Spekeland Street, between Overbury Street and Chatsworth Street
  • 1881 – Pumping Station, Mann Island. The Pumping Station was built to service the railway tunnel underneath the Mersey.
  • 1881 – Fenian Plot to blow up Town Hall
  • 1881 – Granby St Board School. Closed 1999
  • 1881 – W.H.Fleming founds Flemings Jeans
  • 1881 – Work starts on Lake Vyrnwy Dam and reservoir
  • c1881 – Granton Road School built
  • 1881 – The Mere Pub
  • 1881 – Throstles Nest Pub
  • 1881/82 – Bank of Liverpool – Victoria St. Still there as Sir Thomas Hotel
  • 1881/82 – Muskers Building – Dale/Stanley St
  • c1882 – Granite Buildings – Stanley St – offices with produce warehouses to Progress Lane behind
  • 1882 – Liverpool Art School – Hope St/Mount St
  • 1882 – Liverpool and Distict Football Association formed – 12 member clubs
  • 1882 – Liverpool Ramblers AFC (now at Moor Lane, Crosby)
  • 1882 – Liverpool Harriers (athletics) formed (now Liverpool Harriers & Athletic Club)
  • 1882 – Waterloo Rugby Club – Blundellsands
  • 1882 – Liverpool Radium Institute opens in Jospehine Butler House, Myrtle St
  • 1882 – Henry Royce moved to Liverpool continuing to work for the Electric Light and Power Company.
  • 1882 – Edge Hill Gridiron railway sidings system in place
  • 1882 – Liverpool University College – Liverpool Uni since 1903
  • 1882 – No. 2 Castle St – Robert Jones Goldsmiths
  • 1882 – Bootle Town Hall opensI
  • 1882 – Venice Chambers – Lord St/Dorans Lane – still there
  • 1882 – Princes Building – Dale St – shops, offices, leather works – still there
  • 1882 – Lisbon Building – Victoria St (Lisbon pub now downstairs)
  • 1882 – Spellow Train Station.  Closed 1948
  • 1882 – Union House, 21 Victoria St (formerly Palace Chambers)
  • 1882/84 – Swedish Seamans Church Park Lane – still there
  • 1882 – Electric lights trialled at St John’s Market
  • 1882/83 – Municipal Buildings Annexe – Dale St
  • 1882/88 – Harrington Docks open. (filled in 1986-94)
  • 1883 – Northern Hospital introduces Europe’s first horse-drawn ambulance service a regular, hospital-based, horse-drawn service equipped for first-aid and ready for immediate use.
  • 1883 – Ashcroft Building – Victoria St – housed billiard table factory (showroom there til 1987)
  • 1883 – St Marys RC Church Edmund St taken down brick by brick and moved to Highfield St – destroyed in The Blitz
  • 1883 – Liverpool Press Club formed
  • 1883 – Bramley-Moore Dock Hydraulic Engine House
  • 1883 – Sinking of pilot boat ‘The Good Intent’ off Formby Point
  • 1883 – Old Cambridge Hall, Warwick St taken by Methodists and known as Templar Hall, closed 1931
  • 1883 – On 12th August –  at St Joseph’s Grosvenor Street, Bishop O’Reilly ordained 13 new priests for the diocese
  • 1883 – Sir Arthur Forwood’s Insanitary Property Committee, established
  • 1883 – Statue of Benjamin Disraeli – Earl of Beaconsfield – outside St Georges Hall
  • 1883 – Liverpool Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children formed. Initially 6 Nile St, then 3 Islington Square
  • 1883 – Special Hospital for Women – 107-109 Shaw St
  • 1883 – Pilotage Building – Canning Graving Docks – still there
  • 1883/85 – Crown, Jerome and Carlisle, Abbey Buildings – Victoria St
  • 1883/89 – East Toxteth Sheds with clock tower – now Century Buildings
  • 1884 – First game at Anfield – Everton v Earlestown – 1886 Kemlyn Rd stand, 1890 stands behind each goal
  • 1884 – Central Buildings – North St John St – now Hard Days Night Hotel (2004)
  • 1884 – The Picton Clock Tower was presented to the people of Wavertree by architect Sir James Picton in 1884, having been designed by him as a memorial to his wife Sarah
  • 1884 – Small electricity generating station in Rose St – also Harrington St 1888 – The Electric Light Company
  • 1884 – County Sessions House, Shaws Brow
  • 1884 – Rear extension to Walker Art Gallery
  • 1884 – Lucy Craddock is the first woman doctor to practise in Liverpool, established and ran a surgery at 52 Huskisson Street
  • 1884 – Turner Home – by Anne Turner wife of Charles Turner MP
  • 1884 – ‘Blackstone St Murder’ – Spanish sailor knifed to death
  • 1884 – Sisters Margaret Higgins and Catherine Flanagan hanged for murder of Margarets husband Thomas at Kirkdale Gaol – ‘The Black Widows of Liverpool’
  • 1884 – Hornby Dock – for timber trade, now part of Gladstone coal terminal
  • 1884 – Christ Church Schools – Lark Lane
  • 1884 – Police and Fire Station – Durning Rd Edge Hill
  • 1884 – West Derby Cemetery Consecrated 28th June
  • 1884 – Liverpool Inner City Zoological Park & Gardens – Walton
  • c1884 – MDHB purchase Park Hill estate – site of future Dingle Oil Jetty etc
  • 1884 – Park Hill Hospital/Infectious Diseases Hospital – South Hill Rd
  • 1884 – Bank of Liverpool 84 Church St – later Martins, then Barclays, now Santander
  • 1884 – John Masons Removals founded – still going as John Mason International
  • 1884 – Former Margaret Beavan School built as Eddisbury House
  • 1884 – Welsh Eisteddfod held in Liverpool (also 1840, 1900, 1929)
  • 1884/88 – West Harrington Sheds – standing as Glacier Buildings
  • 1885 – T.P. O’Connor elected for Scotland Division – only Irish Nationalist Party MP on mainland – holds til 1929
  • 1885 – Anfield Chapel, Oakfield Road, – site of the garage by Anfield as is
  • 1885 – Westminster Rd Police and Fire Stations – still there now listed
  • 1885 – Victoria Square Dwellings (Juvenal St/Lawrence St) – demolished 1966 – entrance to Kingsway Tunnel.       Opened by Sir Richard Cross, then Conservative Home Secretary
  • 1885 – St Agnes Church – Ullet Rd/Buckingham Ave
  • 1885 – Arnot St school built by Edmund Kirby
  • 1885  – David Lewis dies 4th Dec.
  • 1885 – Paradise St extended – approx.. 222 graves moved from St Thomas’s
  • 1885 – Simpson Drinking Fountain – wall of St Nick’s
  • 1885 – On 6th Aug – Royal Assent approved for Manchester Ship Canal Bill – had caused much animosity between Port of Liverpool and its promoters esp Manchester.
  • c1885 – No.14 Castle St for Edinburg Life assurance
  • 1885 – Church House – corner of Paradise/Hanover St – Mersey Mission to Seaman and a temperance pub
  • 1885 – Developments at end of Paradise St – St Thomas’ church yard south-eastern half given over to extension of Paradise St
  • 1885 – Bodies removed from St Nicks to Everton Cemetry as St Georges Dock Rd widened
  • 1885 – Marker stone on site of the Southern Basin of Harrington Dock to mark the Eastern terminal point of the imaginary line referred to in Section 103 of the Mersey Dock Acts Consolidation Act 1858
  • 1885 – Liverpool Union Bank 43 -47 Bold St
  • 1885 – St Johns The Evangelist Church rebuilt – Fountains Rd
  • 1885 – Turkish Baths in Eberle St
  • 1885 – SS Great Eastern used by Lewis’s to advertise on the Mersey
  • 1885 – New canal warehousing off Carolina St Bootle- became centre of a small canal community
  • 1885 – Lark Lane Police Station – still there
  • 1885 – Edge Hill University opened with 45 students
  • 1886 – Part of Leeds-Liverpool canal filled in – new basin south of Chisendale St. Section between Chisenhale and Phillips St moved 50 metres east and straightened. Pall Mall extended taking in Ray St.  New canal offices built on Pall Mall. Part of agreement for new Exchange Station by Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway
  • 1886 – Mersey Tunnel Railway opened – James Street station in Liverpool and Hamilton Sq in Birkenhead, with stations in between at Hamilton Square and Birkenhead Central – 3 tunnels, 2 tracks, 38 million bricks, two headings met 1884, Dec 1885 people allowed to walk through, 36,000 people use it first day.
  • 1886 – James St station – worlds first underground cut into rock
  • 1886 – Liverpool City Police – Mounted Department – Hatton Garden
  • 1886 – Prudential Assurance Building – Dale St – Alfred Waterhouse, on site of Colonial Buildings which included a Yates pub in 1880’s
  • 1886 – Gordon’s Boys Institute – Stanley Rd, Kirkdale – still there
  • 1886 – St Polycarp’s Church – North Netherfield Rd
  • 1886 – Sacred Heart RC Church – Prescot St/Low Hill
  • 1886 – Crown Buildings – Preston St – former Magistrates Court traffic offences
  • 1886 – Venice St Board Schools – Breckfield – demolished 2011
  • 1886 – International Shipperies Exhibition in May,  held in Wavertree Park ( Botanic Park). Opened by Queen Victoria – see frieze on Walker Art Gallery.
  • 1886 – Shipperies Pub built ref above
  • 1886/87 – The Adult Deaf and Dumb Institute – Princes Rd
  • 1884/86 – Hartleys Jam factory and Village, Fazakerley
  • 1887 – Cains Brewery Stanhope St rebuilt as is –  taken over by Higsons Brewery in 1923, now Dusanj brothers
  • 1887 – Central Commercial Hotel – Cains, Ranlagh St
  • 1887 – Hahnemann Homeopathic Hospital – 42 Hope St
  • 1887 – Walker Engineering Building, University of Liverpool, Brownlow Hill
  • 1887 – Manx Line – Liverpool & Manchester Co founded – Isle of Man route
  • 1887 – Statue of Major-General William Earle, native of Liverpool and leader of British Imperial campaigns in India and Africa was erected on St Georges Plateau
  • 1887 – Elizabeth Berry hanged at Walton (ironically by hangman named James Berry)
  • 1887 – Westminster Music Hall – 85/87 Smith St Kirkdale- opened byThomas Montgomery &James Kiernan
  • 1887 – Sicilian marble statue of William Rathbone by John Henry Foley and Thomas Brock was unveiled in Sefton Park
  • 1887 – The Kardomah brand of tea was first served at the Liverpool colonial exhibition of 1887,and the brand was later applied to a range of teas, coffees and coffee houses
  • 1887 – Queen of Hawaii and her daughter Princess Liliuokalani arrive in Liverpool on 2nd June and are entertained by Mayor James Pool
  • 1887 – St Benedict’s, Kepler St/Heyworth St, Everton – demolished 1976
  • 1888 – Shakespeare Theatre – Fraser St off London Rd – 27th Aug
  • 1888/90 – St Clare’s R.C. Church – Arundel Avenue – Smithdown
  • 1888 – The Globe Pub – Cases St
  • 1888 – John Bagots Hospital, Netherfield Rd North – was James Ackers villa
  • 1888 – City Hospital (South) Northumberland/Grafton St opened
  • 1888 – Bootle becomes  borough
  • c1888 – St Margaret of Antioch Primary School – Upper Hampton St
  • 1888 – Lewis’s gutted by fire
  • 1888 – James Lord Bowes was appointed the Honorary Japanese Consul at Liverpool, the first such appointment in the UK
  • 1888 – Kirklands Bakery – Hardman St – now Fly in the Loaf pub
  • 1888 – Brae St Board Schools Edge Hill – Kensington Primary and Juniors
  • 1888 – Another drought affects Liverpool
  • c1886/88 – Rebuilt Exchange Station and Hotel opens (canal basin in Old Hall St closed 1886). Now at street level as viaduct over canal no longer needed.
  • 1888/89 – Fazakerley Cottage Homes built by West Derby Union for pauper children
  • 1888 – Liverpool Hydraulic Power Company introduce a system of high pressure water mains – works were in Athol St
  • 1888 – Sheltering Home for Destitute Children – Myrtle St
  • 1888 – Daniel Higson Ltd formed – had been run by Higson since 1865 – originally formed 1780
  • 1888 – Port Sunlight, created by William Hesketh Lever for his factory workers in 1888
  • 1888 – Finally, in 1888, a prominent group of businessmen formed the Liverpool Overhead Railway Company and obtained the Dock Board’s powers by an Act of Transfer
  • 1888 – ‘Fruit Exchange Buildings’ – 10/18 Victoria St – built as railway goods station – converted 1923
  • 1889 – Toxteth Dock Hydraulic Station and Customs House – still there Red Cross
  • 1887/89 – Liverpool Royal Infirmary – Pembroke Place – still there – Alfred Waterhouse, Florence Nightingale consulted
  • 1889 –  William Henry Quilliam a.k.a Abdullah Quilliam opens Britains first mosque at No.8 Brougham Terrace
  • 1889 – Liverpool becomes a County Borough
  • 1889 – St. Silvesters Church – Silvester St
  • 1889 – Belmont Road (Grove) Workhouse – became Newsham General Hosp 1917. Lizzie Christian sold flowers outside on a Sunday
  • 1889 – The Florrie’ – The Florence Institute – Mill St, Dingle – boys club by Sir Bernard Hall
  • 1889 – Bankhall Girls Institute – Stanley Rd
  • 1889 – 13th July – Shah of Persia stays at Newsham House
  • 1889 – Murder of James Maybrick by his wife Florence. Buried 16th May but his body was exhumed on May 30th
  • 1889 – Bent’s Brewery acquired Thomas Montgomery’s Stone Brewery
  • 1889 – First use of slot gas meters – Cazenau St dwellings
  • 1889 – New Gt Charlotte St Fish market
  • 1889 – Kensington Library
  • 1889 – William Henry Taverner has sweet shop on Scotland Rd – factory in Vauxhall then Beech St Edge Lane – invents chocolate eclairs in 1930 – still there as Tangerine Ltd
  • 1889 – National Union of Dock Labour founded in Liverpool – NUDL
  • 1889 – British and Foreign Marine Insurance Company Building, 5 Castle Street
  • 1889/94 – Wesleyan Mission Boys Home – 101-03 Shaw St
  • 1889/90 – The SS Great Eastern broken up at Rock Ferry by Henry Bath & Son Ltd
  • 1890 – Andrew William Barclay incorporates Peter Walker & Son (Warrington & Burton) – private company
  • 1890 –  The Paddington Palace, Edge Hill, Liverpool opened.
  • 1890 – Juvenal Dwellings – close to Kingsway entrance as is
  • 1890 – Great fire Liverpool docks
  • 1890 – John Alexandra Brodie invents football nets
  • 1890 – Hill O’Zion Church, Cochrane St, Everton – still there
  • 1890 – MDHB start dredging  river entrance in ernest reducing ‘The Bar’
  • 1890 – British Insulated Cables – Prescot – becomes BICC
  • 1890 – Museums Association formed – Rev. Henry Hugh Higgins became the first president
  • 1890 – Nos. 10 -14 – 18 Castle St – built as offices
  • 1890 – 36 Castle St built as bank
  • 1890 – 44 Castle St – now Boots – purple front
  • 1890 -Dock Labourers Strike – 5th – 31st March – 20,000 dockers – Military called out
  • 1890 – Walton Breck Road straightened
  • c1890 – Palantine Chambers – corner of Hackins Hey/Dale St – ground floor is now Saddle Inn (was the Palentine)
  • 1890 – 28th Nov – all sheds at Herculaneum Docks destroyed by fire
  • 1890 – 26th Oct – Henry Morton Stanley – famous Africa explorer delivers lecture at St Georges Hall
  • 1890 – The first person to die on the new style “step free” gallows was Matthew William Chadwick on the 15th of April 1890 at Kirkdale.
  • c1890 – Kansas Building – Stanley/Mathew St – was Wade Smith
  • c1890 – Vestey Brothers (William/Edmund) set up Union Cold Storage
  • c1890 – Gregsons Well Pub – Brunswick Rd
  • 1890 – County Rd Methodist Church
  • 1891 – Population 813,000
  • 1891 – John Conway hanged at Walton
  • 1891 – Bootle Technical College founded – becomes Hugh Baird College in 1974, Balliol Rd
  • 1891 – Gardens at Our Lady & St Nicholas laid out – in memory of James Harrison (Mersey Chambers)
  • 1891 – State Fire Insurance Company – became State Assurance Co. Ltd – founded
  • c1891 – Four major pubs owners in Liverpool were – Peter Walkers & Sons, Robert Cain, Rowland Bent, Threfalls
  • 1891 – Toxteth Cooperative Provident Society – formed May 1891
  • 1891 – Refuse destructor built at canal wharf Charters St
  • 1891 – The Theatre Royal Palace of Varieties Breck Rd Anfield – converted to cinema (Super Royal) in 1920
  • 1891 – Addison St Day Industrial School
  • 1891 – Buffalo Bill (Colonel W F Cody) visits Liverpool – Newsham Park
  • 1891 – Liverpool and North Wales Steamship Company
  • 1891/92 – Water supply starts from Lake Vrynwy
  • 1891/93 – Mill Road Infirmary – later becomes Mill Rd Maternity Hospital – bombed in Blitz
  • 1891/92 – Adelphi Bank – corner of Brunswick/Castle St
  • 1892 – Liverpool FC formed as Everton move to Goodison. Liverpool’s first game v Higher Walton on 23rd September
  • 1892 – Mersey Railway tunnel extended from James St to Central low level station
  • 1892 – ‘English Baseball League’ founded at Oddfellows Hall, St Anne St
  • 1892 – First ‘John West’ canned foods imported by Pelling, Stanley & Co – become John West Foods
  • 1892 – Lake Vrynwy comes on line, via ‘Mersey Tunnels’ under Man Ship Canal at Runcorn
  • c1892 – Frank Sugg Ltd – 12 Lord St
  • 1892 – Fire at Aintree Grandstand 29th Sept
  • 1892 – Dandy’ Pat Byrne drinking fountain erected in Scotland Place opposite his ‘Morning Star’ pub –
  • 1892 – Roscommon St Theatre. Converted into a cinema in 1915
  • 1892 – Victoria Building, Brownlow Hill – University College. Mr (later Sir) William Hartley, the jam manufacturer, funded the clock and bells and Mr (later Sir) Henry Tate, the sugar refiner of Liverpool and London offered to fund the entire library block of the building, amounting to £20,000
  • 1893 – First Lord Mayor – Robert Durning Holt
  • 1893 – MDHB purchase Tranmere foreshore – eventually taken by Camell Lairds – from landowner Major Orred
  • 1893 – Walton Town Hall built. Demolished c1968 for Breeze Hill flyover
  • 1893 – Liverpool Overhead Railway opened 4th Feb
  • c1893 – New Zealand House – Water St
  • 1893 -Food and Betterment Association founded by Lee Jones
  • 1893 – Clarence Station – LOR
  • 1894 – FA Cup Final held at Goodison – Notts County 4 – 1 Bolton Wanderers
  • 1894 – School of Architecture and Applied Art (Art Sheds), Liverpool
  • 1894 – Overhead Railway was extended to Bootle (Seaforth Sands Station) in April 1894
  • 1894 – Manchester Ship Canal completed
  • 1894 – St Pauls Church graveyard closed (12,333 burials) turned into St Pauls Gardens
  • 1894 – British Enka Factory – Aintree – becomes Courtaulds
  • 1894 – The first mill was built on the East Float Birkenhead by Robert Buchanan, soon followed by mills built by W Vernon & Sons (West Float), Paul Brothers (Homepride Mills) and Spillers & Bakers (both East Float). One of the last mills built was Ocean Flour Mills which was built in Birkenhead in 1913 for Joseph Rank Ltd.
  • 1894 – 53 year old Margaret Walber who was hanged by James Billington on the 2nd of April 1894 for the murder of her husband – Walton Prison
  • 1894 – MDHB appoints first full-time paid General manager – Mr Miles Kirk Burton
  • 1894 – The Bank of British West Africa (BBWA) was registered as a limited liability company in March 1894. The Head Office was in Castle Street, Liverpool. Founded by Sir Alfred Jones, a shipping magnate from Liverpool
  • 1894 – St Deiniol’s – Upper Parliament St – still there as furniture warehouse
  • 1894 – Pier Head to London railway link
  • 1894 – Anfield Main Stand built – lasted til 1970
  • 1894/99 – Central Post Office – back of Met Quarter, Victoria St – bottom floors only, blitz damage – designed by Sir Henry Tanner, Chief Architect in the Office of Works.
  • 1895 – Riverside Station – Princes Dock – Bath St, with connections to the mainline. Also strengthening of Princes Stage, and dredging alongside for liners
  • 1895 – Wavertree Playground or ‘The Mystery’ opened – off Smithdown Rd/Grant Ave. Covers 108acres. Venue of the ‘Liverpool Show’ from 1949 to the 90’s
  • 1895 – Samaritan Hospital for Women – Upper Warwick St – moves to 36 Upper Parliament St 1900
  • 1895 – 12th June – visit of The Shahzada, son of the Amir of Afghanistan – stays at Newsham House. He made a gift of £2,500 to Abdullah Quilliam to support the work of the Liverpool Muslim Institute
  • 1895 – Gregson Memorial Institute and Museum- Garmoyle Rd
  • 1895 – Derby Park – Bootle opens
  • 1895 – Boundary extended: Walton, all of West Derby, Wavertree, Toxteth
  • 1895 – Burlington Street free open-air baths opened.
  • 1895 – Leyland and Bullins Bank head office moves to 36 Castle St
  • 1895 – Liverpool Warehousing Co. Ltd founded
  • 1895 – First of five free open air plunge pools – Burlington St 1895, Manfield St 1899, Gore St 1898, Green Lane 1899, Stanley Park 1923
  • 1896 – First use in this country of an x-ray machine for surgical purposes – Professor Oliver Lodge assisted the orthopaedic surgeon Sir Robert Jones and Dr Charles Thurston Holland, physician at the Royal Southern Hospital in Liverpool, to take the first clinical X-ray in Britain, which revealed a bullet in a young boy’s hand
  • 1896 – Pier Head landing stage extended – half a mile long
  • 1896 – The Liverpool Self-Propelled Traffic Association – Liverpool Motor Club 1906
  • 1896 – The Liverpool Cotton Market moves indoors for the first time in its history – Brown’s Bldg overlooking Exchange Flags
  • 1896 – Langton Dock Station opened – closed 1906
  • 1896 – Nelson Dock Station opened (opposite Bramley-Moore pub) – closed 1956
  • 1896 – Diamond Match factory (the ‘Matchy’) – Litherland – destroyed in Blitz
  • 1896 – Bellerive FCJ Convent and School – Windermere Terrace, Princes Park
  • 1896 – Everton Library opened
  • 1896 – Aintree Institute (WP Hartley)
  • 1896 – Sefton Park Palm House opened
  • 1896 – Liverpool switch to playing in red
  • 1896 – Empire Theatre renovated by designer Frank Matcham
  • 1896 – Dingle Station underground extension for Overhead railway – Grafton st, station on Park Rd
  • 1896 – St Benedict’s School, Kepler St/Ruperts Lane/Heyworth St, Everton – demolished 1976
  • 1896 – Anfield Crematorium opens
  • 1896/98 – Pearl Assurance building – St John’s Lane
  • 1897 – Nos. 6 – 8 Castle St – Cheltenham & Gloucester
  • 1897 – Electric Light Company opens Pumpfields Electric Works – closed 1985
  • 1897 – Crawfords Biscuit factory – Binns Lane. Bombed in Blitz, closed 1990s
  • 1897 – Victoria Settlement – York Terrace – Community Centre, Liverpool’s first women’s and children’s community centre
  • 1897 – Breeze Hill Reservoir (still there but not in use)
  • 1897 – Greenbank Park – Liverpool Corporation entered into an agreement with the Rathbone family to purchase the piece of land. The area was the former home of the Rathbone family, philanthropists through two centuries. The family acquired nearby Greenbank House in 1788 as a holiday house and remained there until 1940.
  • 1897 – The Liverpool Tramway Transfer Act 1897 ratified the conversion to mechanical power and the end of horse pulled trams in 1902. Corporation buys Liverpool Tramway Company
  • 1897 – St Georges Church demolished – becomes site of Queen Victoria monument in 1906
  • c1897 – Gildart Gardens – area of new tunnel exit now –
  • c1897 – Arley St Dwellings
  • 1897 – Central Synagogue – Islington – destroyed in The Blitz 1941
  • 1897 – Super Lyric Cinema – Everton Valley
  • 1897/98 – City Education Offices – 14 Sir Thomas St – still there
  • 1898 – Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine founded (first in world) – Pembroke Place
  • 1898 – White Star Building – James St. Albion House – Norman Shaw
  • 1898 – First electric trams in Liverpool
  • 1898 – Gypsum Boulder discovered in Crosby – 20tons
  • 1898 –  Fonthill Rd School – eventually becomes Kirkdale St Lawrence
  • 1898 – Swan Inn est. – Wood St
  • 1898 – Hardman St School for Blind moves to Church Rd North Wavertree
  • 1898 – Olive Mount Cottages – Mill Lane, Wavertree. The site later became Olive Mount Children’s Hospital. Most of the buildings were demolished in 1992-3 but the main house, superintendent’s house, and remains of entrance lodge survive
  • 1898 – W.E. Gladstone dies on 19th May at Hawarden
  • 1898 – John Brodie became City Engineer. He introduced the first reserved tracks for the tramway.
  • 1898 – Kings Dock rebuilt under the 1898 Dock Improvement Act and began to import fresh fruit from the Canary Islands, which was stored in quayside sheds
  • 1899 – The end of shipbuilding on the north bank of the river came about in 1899 with the need to rebuild the south docks from Queens Dock to Herculaneum
  • 1898/00 – Philharmonic Hotel – Walter Thomas
  • 1899 – HMS Britomart – last large ship built for Royal Navy in Liverpool – W.H.Porter Queens Dock
  • 1899 – Chancery House – Gordon Smith Institute for Seaman – end of Paradise St
  • 1899 – Thomas Ogdens opens Boundary Lane Factory – bought out by American Tobacco Company in 1901, 1902 Imperial Tobacco. Closed March 2007.
  • 1899/00 – Princes Jetty – AG Lyster – one of earliest examples of Hennebique reinforced concrete
  • 1899 – MDHB launch £5,000,000 stock sale but only attract £92,000
  • 1899 – Bessie Braddock born in Zante St Everton
  • 1899 – Former Liverpool Union Bank (1899)/Lloyds Bank, 133 Upper Stanhope Street, Toxteth
  • 1899 – Albert Dock – Part of the north stack (now the Merseyside Maritime Museum) is converted for use as a cold store and ice-making plant, by the Riverside Cold Storage and Ice Company. It remains in use until early 1950’s
  • 1899 – British Lager Brewing Co Ltd – Devon St
  • 1899 – RMS Oceanic II maiden voyage – 6th Sept – White Star Line
  • 1899 – Trams – first 1d fares were introduced and each route was divided into penny stage.
  • 1899 – Smithdown Rd Tram Depot – closed 1936
  • 1899 – Ullet Road Unitarian Church – still there

top

13th-to-16th-Century

17thCentury

18thCentury

20thCentury

Advertisements

3 Responses to 19th Century

  1. Jack Eaton says:

    Fascinating.

  2. jeffrey Highton says:

    I WAS born in Liverpool [sEFTON GEN] May 1940, the history of my home town that i have read in your page, what can i say, FANTASTIC thank you.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s